Buying Guide

The Best External SSD for Mac

From the X9 1TB to the Rugged SSD4: five external drives ranked on capacity and rated read speed, with who should skip each one.

By The PC Journal editorial team

12 min read5 products evaluated

A USB-C SSD gives a Mac fast extra storage for projects and libraries. Every pick is a USB-C SSD, ordered by listed read speed.

This is a research roundup, not a lab test: drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and max read speed come from each maker's published specs; nothing here was tested in-house, and gaps in the specs are flagged, not filled in.

Quick Picks

Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

  1. Fastest Rated Read Speed

    LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB

    The fastest rated read speed here (4,000MB/s).

    Best for: Buyers who put rated read speed first.

    Our take Check price for LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB (opens in a new tab)

  2. Also Consider

    Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB

    2,000MB/s rated writes.

    Best for: Buyers who want 2,000MB/s rated writes.

    Our take Check price for Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

  3. Strong Alternative

    Samsung T9 Portable SSD 1TB

    Sustained read and write up to 2,000MB/s.

    Best for: Buyers who want sustained read and write up to 2,000MB/s.

    Our take Check price for Samsung T9 Portable SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

  4. Largest Capacity

    Samsung T9 Portable SSD 2TB

    The largest capacity here (2TB).

    Best for: Buyers who put capacity first.

    Our take Check price for Samsung T9 Portable SSD 2TB (opens in a new tab)

  5. Lowest Price Here

    Crucial X9 Portable SSD 1TB

    The lowest price among these external drives at the time of writing.

    Best for: Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.

    Our take Check price for Crucial X9 Portable SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

Our Picks

LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB

Fastest Rated Read Speed1 of 5

LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

LaCie's Rugged SSD4 uses a 40Gbps USB connection and offers 4,000MB/s reads and 3,800MB/s writes, the fastest figures here.

Best for

Buyers who put rated read speed first.

Skip if

Skip it if price comes first: the X9 1TB cost less when we checked.

Why we like it

It is the only 1TB drive in this guide, and it needs a USB4 or Thunderbolt port to reach those speeds. It reads at up to 4,000MB/s over USB 40Gbps and Thunderbolt, and it is IP54-rated with 3-metre drop and 1-ton crush resistance. It suits fieldwork with large video files.

It matches the X10 Pro, the T9 and the X9 1TB on capacity (1TB). On rated read speed it leads this guide at 4,000MB/s, ahead of the X10 Pro (2,100MB/s). It also comes with compatibility with Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 as well as 5-20Gbps USB and a three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery. It was the most expensive pick when we checked, so weigh what it adds over the T9 2TB.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
  • Max read speed: 4,000MB/s
  • Connection: USB 40Gbps (Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 compatible)
  • Durability claim: IP54, drops up to 3m, 1-ton pressure
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • rated reads up to 4,000MB/s
  • 3,800MB/s rated writes
  • Compatibility with Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 as well as 5-20Gbps USB
  • Three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery

Cons

  • Costs more than the X9 1TB at the time of writing
Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB

Also Consider2 of 5

Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Crucial's X10 Pro offers 2,100MB/s reads and 2,000MB/s writes with IP55 protection and a lanyard loop.

Best for

Buyers who want 2,000MB/s rated writes.

Skip if

If budget leads, the X9 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.

Why we like it

It suits creators with a 20Gbps port. It reads at up to 2,100MB/s and writes at 2,000MB/s, and it is rated IP55 with 7.5-foot drop resistance. Full speed needs a 20Gbps USB port.

It matches the Rugged SSD4, the T9 and the X9 1TB on capacity (1TB). Its 2,100MB/s rated read speed ranks second of 5 here, behind the Rugged SSD4 (4,000MB/s) and ahead of the X9 1TB (1,050MB/s). It shares a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C) connection with the T9; the X9 1TB goes with a USB-C (USB 3.2) connection.

It also offers Acronis True Image and Mylio Photos+ trials. Its top speed needs a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20Gbps) port; most laptops and all Macs run it at 10Gbps speeds instead. Its price falls between the X9 1TB and the T9, based on our last check.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
  • Max read speed: 2,100MB/s
  • Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C)
  • Durability claim: IP55, drops up to 7.5ft
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • rated reads up to 2,100MB/s
  • 2,000MB/s rated writes
  • Lanyard loop and activity light
  • Acronis True Image and Mylio Photos+ trials

Cons

  • Costs more than the X9 1TB at the time of writing
Samsung T9 Portable SSD 1TB

Strong Alternative3 of 5

Samsung T9 Portable SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Samsung's T9 rates sustained reads and writes up to 2,000MB/s over USB 3.2 Gen 2x2.

Best for

Buyers who want sustained read and write up to 2,000MB/s.

Skip if

Skip it if price comes first: the X9 1TB cost less when we checked.

Why we like it

It includes a thermal design for long transfers. It matches the Rugged SSD4, the X10 Pro and the X9 1TB on capacity (1TB). It shares a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C) connection with the X10 Pro; the X9 1TB goes with a USB-C (USB 3.2) connection.

It also comes with a Dynamic Thermal Guard heat solution and Magician software for firmware and health checks. Its top speed needs a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20Gbps) port; most laptops and all Macs run it at 10Gbps speeds instead. On price it sat third of 5, between the cheaper X10 Pro and the pricier T9 2TB, at the time of writing.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
  • Max read speed: 2,000MB/s
  • Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C)
  • Durability claim: Not stated
  • Security: Encryption via Magician software

Pros

  • rated reads up to 2,000MB/s
  • Sustained read and write up to 2,000MB/s
  • Dynamic Thermal Guard heat solution
  • Magician software for firmware and health checks

Cons

  • Costs more than the X9 1TB at the time of writing
Samsung T9 Portable SSD 2TB

Largest Capacity4 of 5

Samsung T9 Portable SSD 2TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Samsung's T9 lists sustained read and write speeds up to 2,000MB/s, and Samsung's Dynamic Thermal Guard is meant to hold that pace through long copies.

Best for

Buyers who put capacity first.

Skip if

If budget leads, the X9 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.

Why we like it

Magician software handles firmware updates, health monitoring and optional encryption. Nothing else here matches its 2TB capacity; the Rugged SSD4 comes closest at 1TB. On rated read speed it ties with the T9 at 2,000MB/s.

It is the only pick here with a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 connection; the X9 1TB has a USB-C (USB 3.2) connection instead. It also comes with support for iPhone 15 Pro ProRes 4K60 recording. Its top speed needs a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20Gbps) port; most laptops and all Macs run it at 10Gbps speeds instead. It was priced above the T9 and below the Rugged SSD4 at the time of writing.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
  • Max read speed: 2,000MB/s
  • Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2x2
  • Durability claim: Not stated
  • Security: Encryption via Magician software

Pros

  • rated reads up to 2,000MB/s
  • Sustained read and write speeds up to 2,000MB/s
  • Dynamic Thermal Guard heat solution for long transfers
  • Support for iPhone 15 Pro ProRes 4K60 recording

Cons

  • Costs more than the X9 1TB at the time of writing
Crucial X9 Portable SSD 1TB

Lowest Price Here5 of 5

Crucial X9 Portable SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Crucial's X9 offers 1,050MB/s, IP55 dust and water resistance and 7.5ft drop resistance.

Best for

Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.

Skip if

Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the T9 2TB offers 2TB.

Why we like it

Crucial pitches it for casual gamers and everyday use. It works with consoles, iPad Pro and Android. Registering it adds three months of Mylio Photos+ and Acronis True Image backup software.

On capacity it ties with the Rugged SSD4, the X10 Pro and the T9 at 1TB. On rated read speed it trails the group at 1,050MB/s, while the Rugged SSD4 offers 4,000MB/s. It is the only pick here with a USB-C (USB 3.2) connection; the T9 has a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C) connection instead.

It cost the least of the 5 picks at the time of writing, with the X10 Pro the next step up. It gives ground on capacity, where the T9 2TB is rated for 2TB.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
  • Max read speed: 1,050MB/s
  • Connection: USB-C (USB 3.2)
  • Durability claim: IP55, drops up to 7.5ft
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • IP55 rating
  • Drop resistance up to 7.5ft
  • Design aimed at casual gamers and everyday use
  • USB-C (USB 3.2) connection, the only one here

Cons

  • Capacity trails the T9 2TB (2TB)
  • Rated read speed trails the Rugged SSD4 (4,000MB/s)

How We Chose

Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.

Drive type and speed
We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
Security and extras
We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
Durability
We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.
Connection
We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.

What to Look for in an External SSD for Mac

Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.

  1. Decide on rated read speed first

    Among these picks, rated read speed runs from 1,050MB/s on the X9 1TB to 4,000MB/s on the Rugged SSD4. Match this to what you will actually do with it, then let price decide between the picks that qualify.

  2. SSD or hard drive

    A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.

  3. Size for what you store

    1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.

  4. Drop and water ratings

    IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.

  5. Password and encryption

    Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.

How to Choose an External SSD for Mac

By priority

PriorityConsiderWhy
Buyers who put rated read speed firstRugged SSD4The fastest rated read speed here (4,000MB/s)
Buyers who want 2,000MB/s rated writesX10 Pro2,000MB/s rated writes
Buyers who want sustained read and write up to 2,000MB/sT9Sustained read and write up to 2,000MB/s
Buyers who put capacity firstT9 2TBThe largest capacity here (2TB)
Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the buildX9 1TBThe lowest price among these external drives at the time of writing

Scroll sideways to see every column.

Key specs side by side

Figures as each maker states them.

DriveDrive typeCapacity (as reviewed)Max read speedConnection
Rugged SSD4SSD1TB4,000MB/sUSB 40Gbps (Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 compatible)
X10 ProSSD1TB2,100MB/sUSB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C)
T9SSD1TB2,000MB/sUSB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C)
T9 2TBSSD2TB2,000MB/sUSB 3.2 Gen 2x2
X9 1TBSSD1TB1,050MB/sUSB-C (USB 3.2)

Scroll sideways to see every column.

By price at the time of writing

Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.

Price tierDrives
About $150 to $250X9 1TB, X10 Pro, T9
About $250 to $500T9 2TB, Rugged SSD4

Frequently Asked Questions

Which of these external drives has the largest capacity?

The T9 2TB leads at 2TB, ahead of the Rugged SSD4 at 1TB; the X9 1TB sits at the other end with 1TB.

What is the least I can spend on one of these external drives?

The X9 1TB cost the least when we checked, and the Rugged SSD4 sat at the top of the range. Prices move often, so check the current listing before buying.

Will these work with PS5 or Xbox?

Consoles can store and play older-generation games from USB drives. Current-generation games usually must run from internal storage; check the console's own rules.

Can I run PC games from an external SSD?

Yes. Launchers such as Steam can add a library folder on an external drive. Load times depend on the drive and port; an SSD on a 10Gbps port is far quicker than a hard drive.

How long do portable drives last?

It depends on use and handling. Check the warranty length as a signal of the maker's confidence, and replace a drive that reports errors.

Bottom Line

Our first pick is the Rugged SSD4, chosen for the fastest rated read speed here (4,000MB/s). Look at the X10 Pro for 2,000MB/s rated writes, the T9 for sustained read and write up to 2,000MB/s and the T9 2TB for the largest capacity here (2TB) if those matter more to you.

Macs support USB 3.2 Gen 2 speeds on most ports; Gen 2x2 drives fall back to 10Gbps.