Buying Guide
The Best External Storage for a Laptop: SSDs and Hard Drives
Hard drives give the most space; SSDs give speed and toughness. This guide mixes both so you can choose by use.
By The PC Journal editorial team
12 min read6 products evaluated
External storage for a laptop splits into two kinds. Hard drives are cheap per terabyte and suit backups; SSDs are faster and lighter and suit files you work on.
We picked both kinds and compared capacity, connection and durability from each listing.
Quick Picks
Our 6 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Best Backup Drive
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Encryption with a three-year warranty.
Best for: Regular laptop backups
Our take Check price for WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Best Rugged SSD
Samsung T7 Shield Portable SSD 1TB
IP65 with 9.8ft drop protection.
Best for: Working files on the move
Our take Check price for Samsung T7 Shield Portable SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

Best Small SSD
Seagate Ultra Touch SSD 1TB
Palm-sized fabric body with USB-A adapter.
Best for: Light carry
Our take Check price for Seagate Ultra Touch SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

Best Cheap Capacity
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive
2TB USB 3.0 hard drive.
Best for: Bulk storage
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Best Plain Drive
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive
USB 3.2 Gen 1 plug-and-play.
Best for: Windows laptops
Our take Check price for WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Best Dual Connector Drive
YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive
Both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections.
Best for: Mixed laptop ports
Our take Check price for YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)
Our Picks
Best Backup Drive1 of 6
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport adds password protection, hardware encryption and backup software to a slim 2TB drive.
Best for
- Regular laptop backups
Skip if
- Price-first buyers should look at the YOTUO 1TB, which cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
WD offers a three-year warranty. It matches the Seagate Portable 2TB and the WD Elements on capacity (2TB). A USB 3.0 connection is unique to it among these picks, while the Seagate Portable 2TB uses a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection.
It also offers backup software with ransomware defense. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. Its price falls between the Seagate Portable 2TB and the WD Elements, based on our last check.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Backup software with ransomware defense
- Three-year limited warranty
- Slim enclosure
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the T7 Shield
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Best Rugged SSD2 of 6
Samsung T7 Shield Portable SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The T7 Shield adds an IP65 rubber shell and 9.8ft drop protection to Samsung's T7.
Best for
- Working files on the move
Skip if
- If budget leads, the YOTUO 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
Speed stays at 1,050MB/s. Its rubber shell is rated for water, dust and drops, and it transfers over USB 3.2 Gen 2. It works with PC, Mac and consoles.
It reads at up to 1,050MB/s over PCIe NVMe, and it is rated IP65 for water and dust. Samsung makes its own controller, DRAM and NAND for the T7 Shield, and it is sold in 1TB to 4TB capacities. It matches the Ultra Touch SSD and the YOTUO 1TB on capacity (1TB).
A USB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C) connection is unique to it among these picks, while the YOTUO 1TB uses a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection. It was the most expensive pick when we checked, so weigh what it adds over the Ultra Touch SSD.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: SSD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Max read speed: 1,050MB/s
- Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C)
- Durability claim: IP65, drops up to 9.8ft
- Security: None stated
Pros
- IP65 water and dust rating
- Drop protection up to 9.8ft
- Compatibility with PC, Mac, Android and consoles
- USB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C) connection, the only one here
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Best Small SSD3 of 6
Seagate Ultra Touch SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's Ultra Touch SSD is a palm-sized fabric-covered SSD with a USB-A adapter in the box.
Best for
- Light carry
Skip if
- If budget leads, the YOTUO 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
An Android app manages phone backups. Its fabric-covered shell is palm-sized, and it ships with a USB-A adapter and an Android app for phone backups. Some Macs need it reformatted first.
It includes a year of Mylio Create and two months of Adobe CC Photography. On capacity it ties with the T7 Shield and the YOTUO 1TB at 1TB. No other pick in this guide offers a USB-C with USB-A adapter connection; compare the Seagate Portable 2TB, which has a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection. When we checked, only the WD Elements and cheaper picks cost less, and the T7 Shield cost more.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: SSD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB-C with USB-A adapter
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Fabric-covered palm-sized design
- Included USB-A adapter
- Android app for phone content
- USB-C with USB-A adapter connection, the only one here
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Best Cheap Capacity4 of 6
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's Portable 2TB is a plain USB 3.0 hard drive with an 18in cable.
Best for
- Bulk storage
Skip if
- If budget leads, the YOTUO 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
It is the low-cost way to add backup space to any laptop. It matches the My Passport 2TB and the WD Elements on capacity (2TB). You get a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection here, which sets it apart from the Ultra Touch SSD and its a USB-C with USB-A adapter connection.
It also offers drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac and a low price per terabyte. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. On price it sat second of 6, between the cheaper YOTUO 1TB and the pricier My Passport 2TB, at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- 18in USB 3.0 cable
- Drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac
- Low price per terabyte
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the T7 Shield
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Best Plain Drive5 of 6
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD Elements is a no-frills 2TB USB 3.2 Gen 1 drive.
Best for
- Windows laptops
Skip if
- If budget leads, the YOTUO 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
It is formatted for Windows out of the box. On capacity it ties with the My Passport 2TB and the Seagate Portable 2TB at 2TB. It is the only pick here with a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection; the YOTUO 1TB has a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection instead.
It also comes with plug-and-play setup, a small, light enclosure and USB 3.2 Gen 1. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was priced above the My Passport 2TB and below the Ultra Touch SSD at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Plug-and-play setup
- Small, light enclosure
- USB 3.2 Gen 1
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the T7 Shield
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Best Dual Connector Drive6 of 6
YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
YOTUO's 1TB drive ships with both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections and a silicone sleeve.
Best for
- Mixed laptop ports
Skip if
- Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the My Passport 2TB offers 2TB.
Why we like it
It weighs 0.16kg. It stores and plays PS4 and Xbox One games directly, and a silicone sleeve cushions drops. It works with Windows, Mac and Linux.
On capacity it ties with the T7 Shield and the Ultra Touch SSD at 1TB. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. Worth noting too: 0.16kg weight.
It cost the least of the 6 picks at the time of writing, with the Seagate Portable 2TB the next step up. It gives ground on capacity, where the My Passport 2TB is rated for 2TB.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 and USB-C
- Durability claim: Silicone sleeve
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections
- Silicone sleeve
- 0.16kg weight
Cons
- Capacity trails the My Passport 2TB (2TB)
How We Chose
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- Drive type and speed
- We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
- Connection
- We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.
- Security and extras
- We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
- Durability
- We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.
What to Look for in an External Storage for a Laptop
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
SSD or hard drive
A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.
Size for what you store
1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.
Match the port
A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.
Mac and Windows formatting
Many drives ship formatted for Windows. On a Mac, reformat to APFS for Time Machine, or exFAT to share the drive with a Windows PC.
Drop and water ratings
IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.
Password and encryption
Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.
How to Choose an External Storage for a Laptop
By priority
| Priority | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Regular laptop backups | My Passport 2TB | Encryption with a three-year warranty |
| Working files on the move | T7 Shield | IP65 with 9.8ft drop protection |
| Light carry | Ultra Touch SSD | Palm-sized fabric body with USB-A adapter |
| Bulk storage | Seagate Portable 2TB | 2TB USB 3.0 hard drive |
| Windows laptops | WD Elements | USB 3.2 Gen 1 plug-and-play |
| Mixed laptop ports | YOTUO 1TB | Both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Key specs side by side
Figures as each maker states them.
| Drive | Drive type | Capacity (as reviewed) | Connection | Durability claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My Passport 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 | Not stated |
| T7 Shield | SSD | 1TB | USB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C) | IP65, drops up to 9.8ft |
| Ultra Touch SSD | SSD | 1TB | USB-C with USB-A adapter | Not stated |
| Seagate Portable 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Not stated |
| WD Elements | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) | Not stated |
| YOTUO 1TB | HDD | 1TB | USB 3.0 and USB-C | Silicone sleeve |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
By price at the time of writing
Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.
| Price tier | Drives |
|---|---|
| About $50 to $100 | YOTUO 1TB |
| About $100 to $150 | Seagate Portable 2TB, My Passport 2TB, WD Elements |
| About $150 to $250 | Ultra Touch SSD |
| About $250 to $500 | T7 Shield |
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a portable SSD good for backups?
It works, but a hard drive gives more capacity per dollar for backups. Keep a second copy somewhere else for anything irreplaceable.
Can I run PC games from an external SSD?
Yes. Launchers such as Steam can add a library folder on an external drive. Load times depend on the drive and port; an SSD on a 10Gbps port is far quicker than a hard drive.
How long do portable drives last?
It depends on use and handling. Check the warranty length as a signal of the maker's confidence, and replace a drive that reports errors.
Why does my 1TB drive show less space?
Drive makers count 1TB as one trillion bytes; Windows counts in binary units, so it shows about 931GB. No space is missing.
Does the cable matter?
Yes. Use the included cable or one rated for the drive's speed; a charging-only or USB 2.0 cable limits transfers.
Will these work with PS5 or Xbox?
Consoles can store and play older-generation games from USB drives. Current-generation games usually must run from internal storage; check the console's own rules.
Bottom Line
For backups, the WD My Passport adds encryption and a three-year warranty. For working files, the Samsung T7 Shield adds IP65 protection. The Seagate Portable and WD Elements are the cheap capacity picks, and the YOTUO and Ultra Touch cover USB-C laptops.
