Buying Guide

The Best External Hard Drive for PC

Four external drives compared, from the My Passport 2TB to the Passport Ultra for Mac, with the trade-offs of each named.

By The PC Journal editorial team

11 min read4 products evaluated

An external hard drive adds space for a PC's backups, media and game archives. Every pick is a hard drive.

We sorted these picks by drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and connection, working from the makers' own data; any figure a maker omits is noted as missing, and no figure here comes from our own testing.

Quick Picks

Our 4 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

  1. Largest Capacity

    WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB

    The largest capacity here (5TB).

    Best for: Buyers who put capacity first.

    Our take Check price for WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB (opens in a new tab)

  2. Also Consider

    LaCie Rugged USB-C 2TB Portable Hard Drive

    A native USB-C connection.

    Best for: Buyers who want native USB-C connection.

    Our take Check price for LaCie Rugged USB-C 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

  3. Strong Alternative

    WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive

    Plug-and-play setup.

    Best for: Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.

    Our take Check price for WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

  4. Lowest Price Here

    WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive

    The lowest price among these external drives at the time of writing.

    Best for: Keeping the budget tight.

    Our take Check price for WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Our Picks

WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB

Largest Capacity1 of 4

WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

WD's My Passport Ultra for Mac arrives formatted for macOS and connects by USB-C.

Best for

Buyers who put capacity first.

Skip if

If budget leads, the My Passport 2TB was cheaper at our last price check.

Why we like it

It adds 256-bit AES hardware encryption and the largest capacity here, 5TB. Nothing else here matches its 5TB capacity; the Rugged USB-C comes closest at 2TB. A USB-C (USB 3.1) connection is unique to it among these picks, while the My Passport 2TB uses a USB 3.0 connection.

It also comes with formatting for Mac out of the box, a metal cover and a USB-C connection. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was the most expensive pick when we checked, so weigh what it adds over the Rugged USB-C.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: HDD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 5TB
  • Connection: USB-C (USB 3.1)
  • Durability claim: Not stated
  • Security: Password, 256-bit AES hardware encryption

Pros

  • Formatting for Mac out of the box
  • Metal cover
  • USB-C connection
  • Largest capacity of the picks (5TB)

Cons

  • Costs more than the My Passport 2TB at the time of writing
LaCie Rugged USB-C 2TB Portable Hard Drive

Also Consider2 of 4

LaCie Rugged USB-C 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

The LaCie Rugged USB-C puts a native USB-C connector on a 2TB drive rated against drops, dust and rain.

Best for

Buyers who want native USB-C connection.

Skip if

If budget leads, the My Passport 2TB was cheaper at our last price check.

Why we like it

It suits a MacBook without adapters. The LaCie Rugged shell is built to survive drops, dust and rain, which suits carrying footage between sites. It connects over USB-C and works with USB 3.0 ports on older machines.

It matches the WD Elements and the My Passport 2TB on capacity (2TB). You get a USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible) connection here, which sets it apart from the My Passport 2TB and its a USB 3.0 connection. You also get Mac and PC compatibility.

As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. On price it sat third of 4, between the cheaper WD Elements and the pricier Passport Ultra for Mac, at the time of writing.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: HDD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
  • Connection: USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible)
  • Durability claim: Drop, shock, dust and rain resistant
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • Native USB-C connection
  • Mac and PC compatibility
  • Resistance to drops, dust and rain
  • USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible) connection, the only one here

Cons

  • Costs more than the My Passport 2TB at the time of writing
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive

Strong Alternative3 of 4

WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

WD Elements is a no-frills 2TB USB 3.2 Gen 1 drive.

Best for

Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.

Skip if

Price-first buyers should look at the My Passport 2TB, which cost less when we checked.

Why we like it

It is formatted for Windows out of the box. On capacity it ties with the Rugged USB-C and the My Passport 2TB at 2TB. No other pick in this guide offers a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection; compare the Passport Ultra for Mac, which has a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection.

You also get plug-and-play setup, a small, light enclosure and USB 3.2 Gen 1. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).

As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. When we checked, only the My Passport 2TB cost less, and the Rugged USB-C cost more.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: HDD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
  • Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)
  • Durability claim: Not stated
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • Plug-and-play setup
  • Small, light enclosure
  • USB 3.2 Gen 1
  • USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection, the only one here

Cons

  • Costs more than the My Passport 2TB at the time of writing
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive

Lowest Price Here4 of 4

WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

WD's My Passport adds password protection, hardware encryption and backup software to a slim 2TB drive.

Best for

Keeping the budget tight.

Skip if

Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the Passport Ultra for Mac offers 5TB.

Why we like it

WD offers a three-year warranty. It matches the Rugged USB-C and the WD Elements on capacity (2TB). You get a USB 3.0 connection here, which sets it apart from the WD Elements and its a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection.

You also get backup software with ransomware defense. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running.

It undercut the WD Elements and every other pick on price at the time of writing. The trade-off is capacity; for more, the Passport Ultra for Mac is rated for 5TB.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: HDD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
  • Connection: USB 3.0
  • Durability claim: Not stated
  • Security: Password, hardware encryption

Pros

  • Backup software with ransomware defense
  • Three-year limited warranty
  • Slim enclosure
  • USB 3.0 connection, the only one here

Cons

  • Capacity trails the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB)

How We Chose

Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.

Drive type and speed
We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
Security and extras
We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
Connection
We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.
Durability
We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.

What to Look for in an External Hard Drive for PC

Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.

  1. SSD or hard drive

    A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.

  2. Size for what you store

    1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.

  3. Drop and water ratings

    IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.

  4. Match the port

    A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.

  5. Password and encryption

    Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.

  6. Mac and Windows formatting

    Many drives ship formatted for Windows. On a Mac, reformat to APFS for Time Machine, or exFAT to share the drive with a Windows PC.

How to Choose an External Hard Drive for PC

By priority

PriorityConsiderWhy
Buyers who put capacity firstPassport Ultra for MacThe largest capacity here (5TB)
Buyers who want native USB-C connectionRugged USB-CA native USB-C connection
Buyers who want plug-and-play setupWD ElementsPlug-and-play setup
Keeping the budget tightMy Passport 2TBThe lowest price among these external drives at the time of writing

Scroll sideways to see every column.

Key specs side by side

Figures as each maker states them.

DriveDrive typeCapacity (as reviewed)ConnectionDurability claim
Passport Ultra for MacHDD5TBUSB-C (USB 3.1)Not stated
Rugged USB-CHDD2TBUSB-C (USB 3.0 compatible)Drop, shock, dust and rain resistant
WD ElementsHDD2TBUSB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)Not stated
My Passport 2TBHDD2TBUSB 3.0Not stated

Scroll sideways to see every column.

By price at the time of writing

Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.

Price tierDrives
About $100 to $150My Passport 2TB, WD Elements, Rugged USB-C
About $250 to $500Passport Ultra for Mac

Frequently Asked Questions

Which pick leads on capacity?

The Passport Ultra for Mac leads at 5TB, ahead of the Rugged USB-C at 2TB; the My Passport 2TB sits at the other end with 2TB.

Which pick costs the least here?

The My Passport 2TB cost the least when we checked, and the Passport Ultra for Mac sat at the top of the range. Prices move often, so check the current listing before buying.

Why does my 1TB drive show less space?

Drive makers count 1TB as one trillion bytes; Windows counts in binary units, so it shows about 931GB. No space is missing.

Can I run PC games from an external SSD?

Yes. Launchers such as Steam can add a library folder on an external drive. Load times depend on the drive and port; an SSD on a 10Gbps port is far quicker than a hard drive.

Does the cable matter?

Yes. Use the included cable or one rated for the drive's speed; a charging-only or USB 2.0 cable limits transfers.

Bottom Line

Our first pick is the Passport Ultra for Mac, chosen for the largest capacity here (5TB). Look at the Rugged USB-C for a native USB-C connection, the WD Elements for plug-and-play setup and the My Passport 2TB for the lowest price among these external drives at the time of writing if those matter more to you.

Windows File History can back up to any of these.