Buying Guide
The Best External Hard Drive for Mac
From the YOTUO 1TB to the One Touch 2TB: five external drives ranked on capacity and drive type, with who should skip each one.
By The PC Journal editorial team
12 min read5 products evaluated
Any external drive works with a Mac once formatted for macOS. These are hard drives or USB-C drives, ordered from the lowest price.
Our comparison rests on published figures for drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and connection; nothing here was tested in-house, and where a maker leaves a figure out, we say so.
Quick Picks
Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Lowest Price Here
YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive
Undercutting the SSK 500GB on price when we checked.
Best for: Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.
Our take Check price for YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Also Consider
SSK Portable SSD 500GB
Both USB-C and USB-A cables.
Best for: Buyers who want both USB-C and USB-A cables.
Our take Check price for SSK Portable SSD 500GB (opens in a new tab)

Strong Alternative
Seagate Expansion Portable 1TB External Hard Drive
A plain plug-in design.
Best for: Buyers who want plain plug-in design.
Our take Check price for Seagate Expansion Portable 1TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Worth a Look
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Plug-and-play setup.
Best for: Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.
Our take Check price for WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Premium Pick
Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password
The top of this price range, adding a brushed-metal enclosure.
Best for: Spending more for the fullest feature set.
Our take Check price for Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password (opens in a new tab)
Our Picks
Lowest Price Here1 of 5
YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
YOTUO's 1TB drive ships with both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections and a silicone sleeve.
Best for
- Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.
Skip if
- Skip it if this is a deal-breaker for you: capacity of 1TB, behind the WD Elements (2TB).
Why we like it
It weighs 0.16kg. It stores and plays PS4 and Xbox One games directly, and a silicone sleeve cushions drops. It works with Windows, Mac and Linux.
On capacity it ties with the Expansion 1TB at 1TB. No other pick in this guide offers a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection; compare the WD Elements, which has a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running.
No other pick here cost less at our last price check, and the SSK 500GB was closest. What it gives up: capacity of 1TB, behind the WD Elements (2TB); by contrast, the WD Elements is rated for 2TB.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 and USB-C
- Durability claim: Silicone sleeve
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections
- Silicone sleeve
- 0.16kg weight
- Capacity of 1TB, ahead of the SSK 500GB
Cons
- Capacity of 1TB, behind the WD Elements (2TB)
Also Consider2 of 5
SSK Portable SSD 500GB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
SSK's 500GB SSD ships with both USB-C and USB-A cables and offers 1,050MB/s reads.
Best for
- Buyers who want both USB-C and USB-A cables.
Skip if
- Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the WD Elements offers 2TB.
Why we like it
It is the cheapest SSD here. It reads at up to 1,050MB/s over a 10Gbps USB-C link, fast enough for moving large project folders. Expect about 465GB to show in Windows, which is normal for a 500GB drive.
SLC caching keeps large transfers fast, and S.M.A.R.T. and TRIM support help it last. Its 0.5TB capacity is the smallest in this group; the WD Elements leads at 2TB. You also get an activity LED and an SLC cache for steady transfers.
Its price falls between the YOTUO 1TB and the Expansion 1TB, based on our last check. If capacity is your priority, the WD Elements (2TB) is the stronger choice.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: SSD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 0.5TB
- Max read speed: 1,050MB/s
- Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C and USB-A cables)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Both USB-C and USB-A cables
- Activity LED
- SLC cache for steady transfers
Cons
- Capacity trails the WD Elements (2TB)
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Strong Alternative3 of 5
Seagate Expansion Portable 1TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The Expansion Portable is Seagate's simplest drive: a 1TB USB 3.0 hard drive with no extras.
Best for
- Buyers who want plain plug-in design.
Skip if
- Price-first buyers should look at the YOTUO 1TB, which cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It suits a single backup job. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD, but it costs less per terabyte for backups. It needs no power adapter and draws power over USB.
On capacity it ties with the YOTUO 1TB at 1TB. Like the One Touch 2TB, it has a USB 3.0 connection, while the YOTUO 1TB uses a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection. It also comes with a plain plug-in design, USB 3.0 and a compact enclosure.
It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It was priced above the SSK 500GB and below the WD Elements at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Plain plug-in design
- USB 3.0
- Compact enclosure
- Capacity of 1TB, ahead of the SSK 500GB
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Worth a Look4 of 5
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD Elements is a no-frills 2TB USB 3.2 Gen 1 drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.
Skip if
- Price-first buyers should look at the YOTUO 1TB, which cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It is formatted for Windows out of the box. On capacity it ties with the One Touch 2TB at 2TB. No other pick in this guide offers a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection; compare the YOTUO 1TB, which has a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection.
You also get plug-and-play setup, a small, light enclosure and USB 3.2 Gen 1. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. When we checked, only the Expansion 1TB and cheaper picks cost less, and the One Touch 2TB cost more.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Plug-and-play setup
- Small, light enclosure
- USB 3.2 Gen 1
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the YOTUO 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Premium Pick5 of 5
Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's One Touch adds password-protected hardware encryption and a brushed-metal case to a 2TB hard drive.
Best for
- Spending more for the fullest feature set.
Skip if
- Price-first buyers should look at the YOTUO 1TB, which cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
Its warranty runs two years with Rescue data recovery. On capacity it ties with the WD Elements at 2TB. Like the Expansion 1TB, it has a USB 3.0 connection, while the YOTUO 1TB uses a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection.
It also offers scheduled or one-click backups. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. At our last price check it topped the group, with the WD Elements the nearest cheaper option.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Brushed-metal enclosure
- Scheduled or one-click backups
- Two-year warranty with Rescue data recovery
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the YOTUO 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
How We Chose
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- Security and extras
- We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
- Drive type and speed
- We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
- Durability
- We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.
- Connection
- We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.
What to Look for in an External Hard Drive for Mac
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
SSD or hard drive
A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.
Size for what you store
1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.
Drop and water ratings
IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.
Match the port
A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.
Password and encryption
Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.
Mac and Windows formatting
Many drives ship formatted for Windows. On a Mac, reformat to APFS for Time Machine, or exFAT to share the drive with a Windows PC.
How to Choose an External Hard Drive for Mac
By priority
| Priority | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build | YOTUO 1TB | Undercutting the SSK 500GB on price when we checked |
| Buyers who want both USB-C and USB-A cables | SSK 500GB | Both USB-C and USB-A cables |
| Buyers who want plain plug-in design | Expansion 1TB | A plain plug-in design |
| Buyers who want plug-and-play setup | WD Elements | Plug-and-play setup |
| Spending more for the fullest feature set | One Touch 2TB | The top of this price range, adding a brushed-metal enclosure |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Key specs side by side
Figures as each maker states them.
| Drive | Drive type | Capacity (as reviewed) | Connection | Durability claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YOTUO 1TB | HDD | 1TB | USB 3.0 and USB-C | Silicone sleeve |
| SSK 500GB | SSD | 0.5TB | USB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C and USB-A cables) | Not stated |
| Expansion 1TB | HDD | 1TB | USB 3.0 | Not stated |
| WD Elements | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) | Not stated |
| One Touch 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 | Not stated |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
By price at the time of writing
Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.
| Price tier | Drives |
|---|---|
| About $50 to $100 | YOTUO 1TB, SSK 500GB |
| About $100 to $150 | Expansion 1TB, WD Elements, One Touch 2TB |
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick leads on capacity?
The WD Elements leads at 2TB, ahead of the One Touch 2TB at 2TB; the SSK 500GB sits at the other end with 0.5TB.
Which pick costs the least here?
The YOTUO 1TB cost the least when we checked, and the One Touch 2TB sat at the top of the range. Prices move often, so check the current listing before buying.
Can I run PC games from an external SSD?
Yes. Launchers such as Steam can add a library folder on an external drive. Load times depend on the drive and port; an SSD on a 10Gbps port is far quicker than a hard drive.
Why does my 1TB drive show less space?
Drive makers count 1TB as one trillion bytes; Windows counts in binary units, so it shows about 931GB. No space is missing.
How long do portable drives last?
It depends on use and handling. Check the warranty length as a signal of the maker's confidence, and replace a drive that reports errors.
Bottom Line
Our first pick is the YOTUO 1TB, chosen for undercutting the SSK 500GB on price when we checked. Look at the SSK 500GB for both USB-C and USB-A cables, the Expansion 1TB for a plain plug-in design and the WD Elements for plug-and-play setup if those matter more to you.
exFAT lets the same drive move between a Mac and a PC.
