Buying Guide
The Best External Hard Drives for Gaming
Five external drives compared, from the Seagate Portable 1TB to the Passport Ultra for Mac, with the trade-offs of each named.
By The PC Journal editorial team
12 min read5 products evaluated
A hard drive suits archives and older games where load times matter less. Every pick is an external hard drive, ordered by capacity.
We sorted these picks by drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and connection, working from the makers' own data; any figure a maker omits is noted as missing, and no figure here comes from our own testing.
Quick Picks
Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Largest Capacity
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB
The largest capacity here (5TB).
Best for: Buyers who put capacity first.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB (opens in a new tab)

Also Consider
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive
An 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Best for: Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Strong Alternative
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Backup software with ransomware defense.
Best for: Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Worth a Look
LaCie Rugged USB-C 2TB Portable Hard Drive
A native USB-C connection.
Best for: Buyers who want native USB-C connection.
Our take Check price for LaCie Rugged USB-C 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Lowest Price Here
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive
A lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked.
Best for: Keeping the budget tight.
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)
Our Picks
Largest Capacity1 of 5
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport Ultra for Mac arrives formatted for macOS and connects by USB-C.
Best for
- Buyers who put capacity first.
Skip if
- Skip it if price comes first: the Seagate Portable 1TB cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It adds 256-bit AES hardware encryption and the largest capacity here, 5TB. On capacity it leads this guide at 5TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 2TB (2TB). A USB-C (USB 3.1) connection is unique to it among these picks, while the My Passport 2TB uses a USB 3.0 connection.
You also get formatting for Mac out of the box, a metal cover and a USB-C connection. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was the most expensive pick when we checked, so weigh what it adds over the Rugged USB-C.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 5TB
- Connection: USB-C (USB 3.1)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, 256-bit AES hardware encryption
Pros
- Formatting for Mac out of the box
- Metal cover
- USB-C connection
- Largest capacity of the picks (5TB)
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Also Consider2 of 5
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's Portable 2TB is a plain USB 3.0 hard drive with an 18in cable.
Best for
- Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Skip if
- Skip it if price comes first: the Seagate Portable 1TB cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It is the low-cost way to add backup space to any laptop. It matches the My Passport 2TB and the Rugged USB-C on capacity (2TB). It shares a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection with the Seagate Portable 1TB; the Rugged USB-C goes with a USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible) connection.
It also offers drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac and a low price per terabyte. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. Its price falls between the Seagate Portable 1TB and the My Passport 2TB, based on our last check.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- 18in USB 3.0 cable
- Drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac
- Low price per terabyte
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Strong Alternative3 of 5
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport adds password protection, hardware encryption and backup software to a slim 2TB drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
WD offers a three-year warranty. It matches the Seagate Portable 2TB and the Rugged USB-C on capacity (2TB). You get a USB 3.0 connection here, which sets it apart from the Seagate Portable 1TB and its a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection.
You also get backup software with ransomware defense. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. On price it sat third of 5, between the cheaper Seagate Portable 2TB and the pricier Rugged USB-C, at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Backup software with ransomware defense
- Three-year limited warranty
- Slim enclosure
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Worth a Look4 of 5
LaCie Rugged USB-C 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The LaCie Rugged USB-C puts a native USB-C connector on a 2TB drive rated against drops, dust and rain.
Best for
- Buyers who want native USB-C connection.
Skip if
- Skip it if price comes first: the Seagate Portable 1TB cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It suits a MacBook without adapters. The LaCie Rugged shell is built to survive drops, dust and rain, which suits carrying footage between sites. It connects over USB-C and works with USB 3.0 ports on older machines.
It matches the Seagate Portable 2TB and the My Passport 2TB on capacity (2TB). You get a USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible) connection here, which sets it apart from the Seagate Portable 1TB and its a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection. It also comes with Mac and PC compatibility.
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. On price it sat fourth of 5, between the cheaper My Passport 2TB and the pricier Passport Ultra for Mac, at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible)
- Durability claim: Drop, shock, dust and rain resistant
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Native USB-C connection
- Mac and PC compatibility
- Resistance to drops, dust and rain
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Lowest Price Here5 of 5
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The 1TB Seagate Portable lists PC, Mac, PlayStation and Xbox support and a year of Rescue data recovery.
Best for
- Keeping the budget tight.
Skip if
- Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the Passport Ultra for Mac offers 5TB.
Why we like it
Mac users reformat it first. Its 1TB capacity is the smallest in this group; the Passport Ultra for Mac leads at 5TB. It shares a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection with the Seagate Portable 2TB; the My Passport 2TB goes with a USB 3.0 connection.
It also offers the lowest price tier among Seagate drives here. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was the cheapest of the group when we checked; the Seagate Portable 2TB was the next step up.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- PC, Mac, PlayStation and Xbox compatibility
- One year of Rescue data recovery
- The lowest price tier among Seagate drives here
- A lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked
Cons
- Capacity trails the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB)
How We Chose These External Hard Drives for Gaming
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- The figures behind the order
- We set side by side five drives on drive type, capacity, connection and security from manufacturer specifications. We did not test them in-house.
- The shared baseline
- All 5, from the Passport Ultra for Mac to the Seagate Portable 1TB, state drive type, capacity and connection.
- Who each pick suits
- The Passport Ultra for Mac for the largest capacity here (5TB); the Seagate Portable 2TB for an 18in USB 3.0 cable; the My Passport 2TB for backup software with ransomware defense.
- Price range
- At our last check the picks ran from the Seagate Portable 1TB ($100 to $150) to the Passport Ultra for Mac ($250 to $500).
What to Look for in an External Hard Drive for Gaming
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Capacity across these picks
Here capacity runs from 1TB on the Seagate Portable 1TB to 5TB on the Passport Ultra for Mac. For less, the Seagate Portable 2TB is the runner-up at 2TB.
Features beyond the spec table
The My Passport 2TB: a three-year limited warranty. The Rugged USB-C: Mac and PC compatibility. The Seagate Portable 1TB: one year of Rescue data recovery.
Where your budget lands
$100 to $150 buys the Seagate Portable 1TB, the Seagate Portable 2TB, the My Passport 2TB and the Rugged USB-C; $250 to $500 buys the Passport Ultra for Mac at our last check.
Match the pick to your priority
Buyers who put capacity first: the Passport Ultra for Mac. Keeping the budget tight: the Seagate Portable 1TB.
Match the port
A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.
How to Choose an External Hard Drive for Gaming
By priority
| Priority | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Buyers who put capacity first | Passport Ultra for Mac | The largest capacity here (5TB) |
| Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable | Seagate Portable 2TB | An 18in USB 3.0 cable |
| Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense | My Passport 2TB | Backup software with ransomware defense |
| Buyers who want native USB-C connection | Rugged USB-C | A native USB-C connection |
| Keeping the budget tight | Seagate Portable 1TB | A lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Key specs side by side
The Passport Ultra for Mac leads on capacity at 5TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 2TB at 2TB.
| Drive | Drive type | Capacity (as reviewed) | Connection | Durability claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passport Ultra for Mac | HDD | 5TB | USB-C (USB 3.1) | Not stated |
| Seagate Portable 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Not stated |
| My Passport 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 | Not stated |
| Rugged USB-C | HDD | 2TB | USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible) | Drop, shock, dust and rain resistant |
| Seagate Portable 1TB | HDD | 1TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Not stated |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
By price at the time of writing
The Seagate Portable 1TB was the lowest-priced pick and the Passport Ultra for Mac the highest when we checked; tiers move with Amazon pricing.
| Price tier | Drives |
|---|---|
| About $100 to $150 | Seagate Portable 1TB, Seagate Portable 2TB, My Passport 2TB, Rugged USB-C |
| About $250 to $500 | Passport Ultra for Mac |
Frequently Asked Questions
Which has the largest capacity: the Passport Ultra for Mac or the Seagate Portable 2TB?
The Passport Ultra for Mac leads at 5TB, with the Seagate Portable 2TB at 2TB. The Seagate Portable 1TB is at the other end of this group with 1TB.
Is the Passport Ultra for Mac worth paying more than the Seagate Portable 1TB?
On paper it adds capacity (5TB against 1TB). The Seagate Portable 1TB was the lowest-priced pick when we checked, so pay the difference only if those gains matter to you.
What makes the Passport Ultra for Mac the Largest Capacity?
It earns the label for the largest capacity here (5TB). It suits anyone who put capacity first.
Do the Passport Ultra for Mac and the Seagate Portable 2TB differ on connection?
The Passport Ultra for Mac uses USB-C (USB 3.1); the Seagate Portable 2TB and the Seagate Portable 1TB use USB 3.0 (USB-A); the My Passport 2TB uses USB 3.0; the Rugged USB-C uses USB-C (USB 3.0 compatible).
Beyond the specs, what sets the Passport Ultra for Mac and the Seagate Portable 2TB apart?
The Passport Ultra for Mac: formatting for Mac out of the box. The Seagate Portable 2TB: an 18in USB 3.0 cable. The My Passport 2TB: backup software with ransomware defense.
Bottom Line
Our first pick is the Passport Ultra for Mac, chosen for the largest capacity here (5TB). Look at the Seagate Portable 2TB for an 18in USB 3.0 cable, the My Passport 2TB for backup software with ransomware defense and the Rugged USB-C for a native USB-C connection if those matter more to you.
Keep current games on an SSD and use the hard drive for the rest.
