Buying Guide

The Best USB 3.2 Gen 2 Portable SSDs

Five external drives ranked on capacity and rated read speed, where the Rugged SSD4 has the fastest rated read speed; the One Touch SSD is the cheapest route in.

By The PC Journal editorial team

12 min read5 products evaluated

Fast portable SSDs only reach their speed on a 10Gbps or faster USB port. Every drive here reads at 1,000MB/s or more, ordered by read speed.

Rankings weigh drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and max read speed as the makers state them; any figure a maker omits is noted as missing rather than guess, since we have not benched them.

Quick Picks

Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

  1. Fastest Rated Read Speed

    LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB

    The fastest rated read speed here (4,000MB/s).

    Best for: Buyers who put rated read speed first.

    Our take Check price for LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB (opens in a new tab)

  2. Also Consider

    Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB

    2,000MB/s rated writes.

    Best for: Buyers who want 2,000MB/s rated writes.

    Our take Check price for Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

  3. Strong Alternative

    WD My Passport SSD 2TB

    Hardware encryption with a password.

    Best for: Buyers who want hardware encryption with a password.

    Our take Check price for WD My Passport SSD 2TB (opens in a new tab)

  4. Lowest Price Here

    Seagate One Touch SSD 1TB

    Undercutting the X10 Pro on price when we checked.

    Best for: Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.

    Our take Check price for Seagate One Touch SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

  5. Worth a Look

    Seagate One Touch SSD 2TB

    A lightweight textile-covered design.

    Best for: Buyers who want lightweight textile-covered design.

    Our take Check price for Seagate One Touch SSD 2TB (opens in a new tab)

Our Picks

LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB

Fastest Rated Read Speed1 of 5

LaCie Rugged SSD4 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

LaCie's Rugged SSD4 uses a 40Gbps USB connection and offers 4,000MB/s reads and 3,800MB/s writes, the fastest figures here.

Best for

Buyers who put rated read speed first.

Skip if

If budget leads, the One Touch SSD was cheaper at our last price check.

Why we like it

It is the only 1TB drive in this guide, and it needs a USB4 or Thunderbolt port to reach those speeds. It reads at up to 4,000MB/s over USB 40Gbps and Thunderbolt, and it is IP54-rated with 3-metre drop and 1-ton crush resistance. It suits fieldwork with large video files.

On capacity it ties with the X10 Pro and the One Touch SSD at 1TB. Its 4,000MB/s rated read speed is the fastest here; the X10 Pro comes next at 2,100MB/s. It also offers compatibility with Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 as well as 5-20Gbps USB and a three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery. At our last price check it topped the group, with the My Passport SSD the nearest cheaper option.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
  • Max read speed: 4,000MB/s
  • Connection: USB 40Gbps (Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 compatible)
  • Durability claim: IP54, drops up to 3m, 1-ton pressure
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • rated reads up to 4,000MB/s
  • 3,800MB/s rated writes
  • Compatibility with Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 as well as 5-20Gbps USB
  • Three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery

Cons

  • Costs more than the One Touch SSD at the time of writing
Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB

Also Consider2 of 5

Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Crucial's X10 Pro offers 2,100MB/s reads and 2,000MB/s writes with IP55 protection and a lanyard loop.

Best for

Buyers who want 2,000MB/s rated writes.

Skip if

Price-first buyers should look at the One Touch SSD, which cost less when we checked.

Why we like it

It suits creators with a 20Gbps port. It reads at up to 2,100MB/s and writes at 2,000MB/s, and it is rated IP55 with 7.5-foot drop resistance. Full speed needs a 20Gbps USB port.

On capacity it ties with the Rugged SSD4 and the One Touch SSD at 1TB. On rated read speed it sits mid-pack at 2,100MB/s: the Rugged SSD4 offers 4,000MB/s, and the One Touch SSD 2TB comes in at 1,030MB/s. No other pick in this guide offers a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C) connection; compare the One Touch SSD, which has a USB-C connection.

You also get Acronis True Image and Mylio Photos+ trials. Its top speed needs a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20Gbps) port; most laptops and all Macs run it at 10Gbps speeds instead.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
  • Max read speed: 2,100MB/s
  • Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C)
  • Durability claim: IP55, drops up to 7.5ft
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • rated reads up to 2,100MB/s
  • 2,000MB/s rated writes
  • Lanyard loop and activity light
  • Acronis True Image and Mylio Photos+ trials

Cons

  • Costs more than the One Touch SSD at the time of writing
WD My Passport SSD 2TB

Strong Alternative3 of 5

WD My Passport SSD 2TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

WD's My Passport SSD pairs 1,050MB/s reads with password-protected hardware encryption.

Best for

Buyers who want hardware encryption with a password.

Skip if

If budget leads, the One Touch SSD was cheaper at our last price check.

Why we like it

It is rated for 6.5ft drops. It connects over USB-C and includes a USB-A path for older machines. It uses NVMe inside, which is why it reaches 1,050MB/s over USB.

On capacity it ties with the One Touch SSD 2TB at 2TB. On rated read speed it sits mid-pack at 1,050MB/s: the Rugged SSD4 offers 4,000MB/s, and the One Touch SSD 2TB comes in at 1,030MB/s. You also get drop resistance up to 6.5ft and a USB-A adapter for older systems. It was priced above the One Touch SSD 2TB and below the Rugged SSD4 at the time of writing.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
  • Max read speed: 1,050MB/s
  • Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C, USB-A adapter)
  • Durability claim: Drops up to 6.5ft
  • Security: Password, 256-bit AES hardware encryption

Pros

  • Hardware encryption with a password
  • Drop resistance up to 6.5ft
  • USB-A adapter for older systems
  • Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Rugged SSD4

Cons

  • Costs more than the One Touch SSD at the time of writing
Seagate One Touch SSD 1TB

Lowest Price Here4 of 5

Seagate One Touch SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

The One Touch SSD offers 1,030MB/s in a light textile case, with a three-year warranty and Rescue data recovery.

Best for

Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.

Skip if

Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the My Passport SSD offers 2TB.

Why we like it

It is Seagate's fastest drive here. Its textile-covered shell is light enough for a commute, and a Mylio Photos+ subscription is included for organising photos. It connects over USB.

It includes a three-year limited warranty with Rescue Data Recovery Services, plus a Dropbox Backup trial. It matches the Rugged SSD4 and the X10 Pro on capacity (1TB). It matches the One Touch SSD 2TB on rated read speed (1,030MB/s).

You get a USB-C connection here, which sets it apart from the One Touch SSD 2TB and its a USB 3 (as listed) connection. It also comes with a lightweight textile design. It undercut the X10 Pro and every other pick on price at the time of writing. The trade-off is capacity; for more, the My Passport SSD is rated for 2TB.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
  • Max read speed: 1,030MB/s
  • Connection: USB-C
  • Durability claim: Not stated
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • Lightweight textile design
  • Three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery
  • Six-month Mylio Photos+ subscription
  • USB-C connection, the only one here

Cons

  • Capacity trails the My Passport SSD (2TB)
Seagate One Touch SSD 2TB

Worth a Look5 of 5

Seagate One Touch SSD 2TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Seagate's One Touch SSD wraps a 2TB drive rated to 1,030MB/s in a light textile cover.

Best for

Buyers who want lightweight textile-covered design.

Skip if

Skip it if rated read speed matters most to you; the Rugged SSD4 offers 4,000MB/s.

Why we like it

It was the lowest-priced drive here at the time of writing and carries a three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery. It matches the My Passport SSD on capacity (2TB). A USB 3 (as listed) connection is unique to it among these picks, while the One Touch SSD uses a USB-C connection.

It also offers a lightweight textile-covered design and a six-month Mylio Photos+ subscription and a Dropbox Backup trial. Its price falls between the X10 Pro and the My Passport SSD, based on our last check. If rated read speed is your priority, the Rugged SSD4 (4,000MB/s) is the stronger choice.

Key dimensions & specs

  • Drive type: SSD
  • Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
  • Max read speed: 1,030MB/s
  • Connection: USB 3 (as listed)
  • Durability claim: Not stated
  • Security: None stated

Pros

  • Lightweight textile-covered design
  • Three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery
  • Six-month Mylio Photos+ subscription and a Dropbox Backup trial
  • Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Rugged SSD4

Cons

  • Rated read speed trails the Rugged SSD4 (4,000MB/s)
  • Costs more than the One Touch SSD at the time of writing

How We Chose These USB 3.2 Gen 2 Portable SSDs

Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.

What we compared
We set side by side five drives on drive type, capacity, rated read speed and connection from manufacturer specifications. We did not test them in-house.
What every pick has in common
All 5, from the Rugged SSD4 to the One Touch SSD 2TB, state drive type, capacity and rated read speed.
Where the specs have gaps
The One Touch SSD and the One Touch SSD 2TB give no durability claim.
Price range
At our last check the picks ran from the One Touch SSD ($150 to $250) to the Rugged SSD4 ($250 to $500).

What to Look for in a USB 3.2 Gen 2 Portable SSD

Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.

  1. Capacity across these picks

    Here capacity runs from 1TB on the One Touch SSD to 2TB on the My Passport SSD. The One Touch SSD 2TB comes second for less money.

  2. How much rated read speed you need

    Here rated read speed runs from 1,030MB/s on the One Touch SSD 2TB to 4,000MB/s on the Rugged SSD4. For less, the X10 Pro is the runner-up at 2,100MB/s.

  3. Extras that separate them

    The X10 Pro: a lanyard loop and activity light. The My Passport SSD: drop resistance up to 6.5ft. The One Touch SSD: a three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery.

  4. Budget

    $150 to $250 buys the One Touch SSD and the X10 Pro; $250 to $500 buys the One Touch SSD 2TB, the My Passport SSD and the Rugged SSD4 at our last check.

  5. Start from what matters most

    Buyers who put rated read speed first: the Rugged SSD4. Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build: the One Touch SSD.

How to Choose a USB 3.2 Gen 2 Portable SSD

By priority

PriorityConsiderWhy
Buyers who put rated read speed firstRugged SSD4The fastest rated read speed here (4,000MB/s)
Buyers who want 2,000MB/s rated writesX10 Pro2,000MB/s rated writes
Buyers who want hardware encryption with a passwordMy Passport SSDHardware encryption with a password
Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the buildOne Touch SSDUndercutting the X10 Pro on price when we checked
Buyers who want lightweight textile-covered designOne Touch SSD 2TBA lightweight textile-covered design

Scroll sideways to see every column.

Key specs side by side

The My Passport SSD leads on capacity at 2TB, ahead of the One Touch SSD 2TB at 2TB.

DriveDrive typeCapacity (as reviewed)Max read speedConnection
Rugged SSD4SSD1TB4,000MB/sUSB 40Gbps (Thunderbolt 3, 4 and 5 compatible)
X10 ProSSD1TB2,100MB/sUSB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C)
My Passport SSDSSD2TB1,050MB/sUSB 3.2 Gen 2 (USB-C, USB-A adapter)
One Touch SSDSSD1TB1,030MB/sUSB-C
One Touch SSD 2TBSSD2TB1,030MB/sUSB 3 (as listed)

Scroll sideways to see every column.

By price at the time of writing

The One Touch SSD was the lowest-priced pick and the Rugged SSD4 the highest when we checked; tiers move with Amazon pricing.

Price tierDrives
About $150 to $250One Touch SSD, X10 Pro
About $250 to $500One Touch SSD 2TB, My Passport SSD, Rugged SSD4

Frequently Asked Questions

Which has the fastest rated read speed: the Rugged SSD4 or the X10 Pro?

The Rugged SSD4 leads at 4,000MB/s, with the X10 Pro at 2,100MB/s. The One Touch SSD 2TB is at the other end of this group with 1,030MB/s.

What does the Rugged SSD4 add over the One Touch SSD?

On paper it adds rated read speed (4,000MB/s against 1,030MB/s). The One Touch SSD was the lowest-priced pick when we checked, so pay the difference only if those gains matter to you.

Why is the Rugged SSD4 our Fastest Rated Read Speed pick?

It earns the label for the fastest rated read speed here (4,000MB/s). It suits anyone who put rated read speed first.

What extras do the Rugged SSD4 and the X10 Pro include?

The Rugged SSD4: 3,800MB/s rated writes. The X10 Pro: 2,000MB/s rated writes. The My Passport SSD: hardware encryption with a password.

Should I pick the Rugged SSD4 or the One Touch SSD 2TB?

The Rugged SSD4 suits buyers who put rated read speed first; the One Touch SSD 2TB suits buyers who want lightweight textile-covered design.

Bottom Line

Our first pick is the Rugged SSD4, chosen for the fastest rated read speed here (4,000MB/s). Look at the X10 Pro for 2,000MB/s rated writes, the My Passport SSD for hardware encryption with a password and the One Touch SSD for undercutting the X10 Pro on price when we checked if those matter more to you.

Format the drive in exFAT if you move it between Windows and macOS.