Buying Guide
The Best Portable External Hard Drive
From the Seagate Portable 2TB to the Passport Ultra for Mac: five external drives ranked on capacity and drive type, with who should skip each one.
By The PC Journal editorial team
12 min read5 products evaluated
Portable hard drives run from USB power and hold several terabytes. Every pick is a hard drive, ordered by capacity.
We sorted these picks by drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and connection, working from the makers' own data; nothing here was tested in-house, and any figure a maker omits is noted as missing.
Quick Picks
Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Largest Capacity
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB
The largest capacity here (5TB).
Best for: Buyers who put capacity first.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB (opens in a new tab)

Lowest Price Here
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive
A lower price than the My Passport 2TB and the rest when we checked.
Best for: Spending as little as possible.
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Also Consider
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Backup software with ransomware defense.
Best for: Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Strong Alternative
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Plug-and-play setup.
Best for: Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.
Our take Check price for WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Worth a Look
Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password
A brushed-metal enclosure.
Best for: Buyers who want brushed-metal enclosure.
Our take Check price for Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password (opens in a new tab)
Our Picks
Largest Capacity1 of 5
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport Ultra for Mac arrives formatted for macOS and connects by USB-C.
Best for
- Buyers who put capacity first.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 2TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
It adds 256-bit AES hardware encryption and the largest capacity here, 5TB. Nothing else here matches its 5TB capacity; the Seagate Portable 2TB comes closest at 2TB. You get a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection here, which sets it apart from the One Touch 2TB and its a USB 3.0 connection.
You also get formatting for Mac out of the box, a metal cover and a USB-C connection. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was the highest-priced of the 5 picks at the time of writing, so the case for it rests on what it adds over the One Touch 2TB and the rest.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 5TB
- Connection: USB-C (USB 3.1)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, 256-bit AES hardware encryption
Pros
- Formatting for Mac out of the box
- Metal cover
- USB-C connection
- Largest capacity of the picks (5TB)
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 2TB at the time of writing
Lowest Price Here2 of 5
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's Portable 2TB is a plain USB 3.0 hard drive with an 18in cable.
Best for
- Spending as little as possible.
Skip if
- Skip it if this is a deal-breaker for you: capacity of 2TB, behind the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB).
Why we like it
It is the low-cost way to add backup space to any laptop. It matches the My Passport 2TB, the WD Elements and the One Touch 2TB on capacity (2TB). You get a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection here, which sets it apart from the One Touch 2TB and its a USB 3.0 connection.
It also comes with drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac and a low price per terabyte. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running.
It undercut the My Passport 2TB and every other pick on price at the time of writing. The main gap: capacity of 2TB, behind the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB). If that matters, the Passport Ultra for Mac is rated for 5TB.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- 18in USB 3.0 cable
- Drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac
- Low price per terabyte
- USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection, the only one here
Cons
- Capacity of 2TB, behind the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB)
Also Consider3 of 5
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport adds password protection, hardware encryption and backup software to a slim 2TB drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 2TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
WD offers a three-year warranty. It matches the Seagate Portable 2TB, the WD Elements and the One Touch 2TB on capacity (2TB). It shares a USB 3.0 connection with the One Touch 2TB; the WD Elements goes with a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection.
You also get backup software with ransomware defense. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. Its price falls between the Seagate Portable 2TB and the WD Elements, based on our last check.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Backup software with ransomware defense
- Three-year limited warranty
- Slim enclosure
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 2TB at the time of writing
Strong Alternative4 of 5
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD Elements is a no-frills 2TB USB 3.2 Gen 1 drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 2TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
It is formatted for Windows out of the box. On capacity it ties with the Seagate Portable 2TB, the My Passport 2TB and the One Touch 2TB at 2TB. It is the only pick here with a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection; the Passport Ultra for Mac has a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection instead.
It also offers plug-and-play setup, a small, light enclosure and USB 3.2 Gen 1. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was priced above the My Passport 2TB and below the One Touch 2TB at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Plug-and-play setup
- Small, light enclosure
- USB 3.2 Gen 1
- USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection, the only one here
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 2TB at the time of writing
Worth a Look5 of 5
Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's One Touch adds password-protected hardware encryption and a brushed-metal case to a 2TB hard drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want brushed-metal enclosure.
Skip if
- Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the Passport Ultra for Mac offers 5TB.
Why we like it
Its warranty runs two years with Rescue data recovery. On capacity it ties with the Seagate Portable 2TB, the My Passport 2TB and the WD Elements at 2TB. Like the My Passport 2TB, it has a USB 3.0 connection, while the WD Elements uses a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection.
It also offers scheduled or one-click backups. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running.
It was priced above the WD Elements and below the Passport Ultra for Mac at the time of writing. It gives ground on capacity, where the Passport Ultra for Mac is rated for 5TB.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Brushed-metal enclosure
- Scheduled or one-click backups
- Two-year warranty with Rescue data recovery
Cons
- Capacity trails the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB)
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 2TB at the time of writing
How We Chose
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- Durability
- We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.
- Connection
- We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.
- Security and extras
- We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
- Drive type and speed
- We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
What to Look for in a Portable External Hard Drive
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
SSD or hard drive
A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.
Size for what you store
1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.
Drop and water ratings
IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.
Mac and Windows formatting
Many drives ship formatted for Windows. On a Mac, reformat to APFS for Time Machine, or exFAT to share the drive with a Windows PC.
Password and encryption
Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.
Match the port
A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.
How to Choose a Portable External Hard Drive
By priority
| Priority | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Buyers who put capacity first | Passport Ultra for Mac | The largest capacity here (5TB) |
| Spending as little as possible | Seagate Portable 2TB | A lower price than the My Passport 2TB and the rest when we checked |
| Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense | My Passport 2TB | Backup software with ransomware defense |
| Buyers who want plug-and-play setup | WD Elements | Plug-and-play setup |
| Buyers who want brushed-metal enclosure | One Touch 2TB | A brushed-metal enclosure |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Key specs side by side
Figures as each maker states them.
| Drive | Drive type | Capacity (as reviewed) | Connection | Durability claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passport Ultra for Mac | HDD | 5TB | USB-C (USB 3.1) | Not stated |
| Seagate Portable 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Not stated |
| My Passport 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 | Not stated |
| WD Elements | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) | Not stated |
| One Touch 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 | Not stated |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
By price at the time of writing
Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.
| Price tier | Drives |
|---|---|
| About $100 to $150 | Seagate Portable 2TB, My Passport 2TB, WD Elements, One Touch 2TB |
| About $250 to $500 | Passport Ultra for Mac |
Frequently Asked Questions
How do these external drives compare on capacity?
The Passport Ultra for Mac leads at 5TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 2TB at 2TB; the One Touch 2TB sits at the other end with 2TB.
Which is the cheapest pick in this guide?
The Seagate Portable 2TB cost the least when we checked, and the Passport Ultra for Mac sat at the top of the range. Prices move often, so check the current listing before buying.
How long do portable drives last?
It depends on use and handling. Check the warranty length as a signal of the maker's confidence, and replace a drive that reports errors.
Can I run PC games from an external SSD?
Yes. Launchers such as Steam can add a library folder on an external drive. Load times depend on the drive and port; an SSD on a 10Gbps port is far quicker than a hard drive.
Does the cable matter?
Yes. Use the included cable or one rated for the drive's speed; a charging-only or USB 2.0 cable limits transfers.
Bottom Line
Our first pick is the Passport Ultra for Mac, chosen for the largest capacity here (5TB). Look at the Seagate Portable 2TB for a lower price than the My Passport 2TB and the rest when we checked, the My Passport 2TB for backup software with ransomware defense and the WD Elements for plug-and-play setup if those matter more to you.
Use a padded case; hard drives are sensitive to drops.
