Buying Guide
The Best External Drives with Cloud Backup
From the Seagate Portable 1TB to the X10 Pro: five external drives ranked on capacity and rated read speed, with who should skip each one.
By The PC Journal editorial team
12 min read5 products evaluated
Some external drives bundle cloud backup or photo software. Every pick has bundled software or a cloud service.
This is a research roundup, not a lab test: drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and max read speed come from each maker's published specs; nothing here was tested in-house, and a missing max read speed is flagged, not filled in.
Quick Picks
Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Lowest Price Here
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive
A lower price than the My Passport 2TB and the rest when we checked.
Best for: Keeping the budget tight.
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Also Consider
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Backup software with ransomware defense.
Best for: Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Strong Alternative
Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password
A brushed-metal enclosure.
Best for: Buyers who want brushed-metal enclosure.
Our take Check price for Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password (opens in a new tab)

Worth a Look
Seagate One Touch SSD 1TB
A lightweight textile design.
Best for: Buyers who want lightweight textile design.
Our take Check price for Seagate One Touch SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)

Premium Pick
Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB
The top of this price range, adding 2,000MB/s rated writes.
Best for: Spending more for the fullest feature set.
Our take Check price for Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB (opens in a new tab)
Our Picks
Lowest Price Here1 of 5
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The 1TB Seagate Portable lists PC, Mac, PlayStation and Xbox support and a year of Rescue data recovery.
Best for
- Keeping the budget tight.
Skip if
- Pass on it if capacity of 1TB, behind the My Passport 2TB (2TB rules it out for your setup.
Why we like it
Mac users reformat it first. It matches the One Touch SSD and the X10 Pro on capacity (1TB). A USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection is unique to it among these picks, while the One Touch 2TB uses a USB 3.0 connection.
It also offers the lowest price tier among Seagate drives here. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was the cheapest of the group when we checked; the My Passport 2TB was the next step up. Buyers who need a confirmed rated read speed should compare it with the X10 Pro, which offers 2,100MB/s.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- PC, Mac, PlayStation and Xbox compatibility
- One year of Rescue data recovery
- The lowest price tier among Seagate drives here
- USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection, the only one here
Cons
- Capacity of 1TB, behind the My Passport 2TB (2TB)
Also Consider2 of 5
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport adds password protection, hardware encryption and backup software to a slim 2TB drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
WD offers a three-year warranty. It matches the One Touch 2TB on capacity (2TB). It shares a USB 3.0 connection with the One Touch 2TB; the One Touch SSD goes with a USB-C connection.
It also offers backup software with ransomware defense. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running.
On price it sat second of 5, between the cheaper Seagate Portable 1TB and the pricier One Touch 2TB, at the time of writing. The maker doesn't give its rated read speed; if that figure matters, the X10 Pro offers 2,100MB/s.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Backup software with ransomware defense
- Three-year limited warranty
- Slim enclosure
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Strong Alternative3 of 5
Seagate One Touch 2TB Portable Hard Drive with Password on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's One Touch adds password-protected hardware encryption and a brushed-metal case to a 2TB hard drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want brushed-metal enclosure.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
Its warranty runs two years with Rescue data recovery. On capacity it ties with the My Passport 2TB at 2TB. Like the My Passport 2TB, it has a USB 3.0 connection, while the Seagate Portable 1TB uses a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection.
It also offers scheduled or one-click backups. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running.
When we checked, only the My Passport 2TB and cheaper picks cost less, and the One Touch SSD cost more. If you want a confirmed rated read speed, look to the X10 Pro instead: it offers 2,100MB/s, while this one gives no figure.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Brushed-metal enclosure
- Scheduled or one-click backups
- Two-year warranty with Rescue data recovery
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Worth a Look4 of 5
Seagate One Touch SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The One Touch SSD offers 1,030MB/s in a light textile case, with a three-year warranty and Rescue data recovery.
Best for
- Buyers who want lightweight textile design.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
It is Seagate's fastest drive here. Its textile-covered shell is light enough for a commute, and a Mylio Photos+ subscription is included for organising photos. It connects over USB.
It includes a three-year limited warranty with Rescue Data Recovery Services, plus a Dropbox Backup trial. On capacity it ties with the Seagate Portable 1TB and the X10 Pro at 1TB. No other pick in this guide offers a USB-C connection; compare the One Touch 2TB, which has a USB 3.0 connection.
It also comes with a lightweight textile design. When we checked, only the One Touch 2TB and cheaper picks cost less, and the X10 Pro cost more.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: SSD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Max read speed: 1,030MB/s
- Connection: USB-C
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Lightweight textile design
- Three-year warranty with Rescue data recovery
- Six-month Mylio Photos+ subscription
- USB-C connection, the only one here
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Premium Pick5 of 5
Crucial X10 Pro Portable SSD 1TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Crucial's X10 Pro offers 2,100MB/s reads and 2,000MB/s writes with IP55 protection and a lanyard loop.
Best for
- Spending more for the fullest feature set.
Skip if
- Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the My Passport 2TB offers 2TB.
Why we like it
It suits creators with a 20Gbps port. It reads at up to 2,100MB/s and writes at 2,000MB/s, and it is rated IP55 with 7.5-foot drop resistance. Full speed needs a 20Gbps USB port.
It matches the Seagate Portable 1TB and the One Touch SSD on capacity (1TB). You get a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C) connection here, which sets it apart from the One Touch SSD and its a USB-C connection. It also offers Acronis True Image and Mylio Photos+ trials.
Its top speed needs a USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20Gbps) port; most laptops and all Macs run it at 10Gbps speeds instead. It was the highest-priced of the 5 picks at the time of writing, so the case for it rests on what it adds over the One Touch SSD and the rest. The trade-off is capacity; for more, the My Passport 2TB is rated for 2TB.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: SSD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Max read speed: 2,100MB/s
- Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C)
- Durability claim: IP55, drops up to 7.5ft
- Security: None stated
Pros
- rated reads up to 2,100MB/s
- 2,000MB/s rated writes
- Lanyard loop and activity light
- Acronis True Image and Mylio Photos+ trials
Cons
- Capacity trails the My Passport 2TB (2TB)
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
How We Chose These External Drives with Cloud Backup
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- Durability
- We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.
- Security and extras
- We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
- Drive type and speed
- We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
- Connection
- We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.
What to Look for in an External Drive with Cloud Backup
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
SSD or hard drive
A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.
Size for what you store
1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.
Drop and water ratings
IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.
Mac and Windows formatting
Many drives ship formatted for Windows. On a Mac, reformat to APFS for Time Machine, or exFAT to share the drive with a Windows PC.
Match the port
A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.
Password and encryption
Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.
How to Choose an External Drive with Cloud Backup
By priority
| Priority | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Keeping the budget tight | Seagate Portable 1TB | A lower price than the My Passport 2TB and the rest when we checked |
| Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense | My Passport 2TB | Backup software with ransomware defense |
| Buyers who want brushed-metal enclosure | One Touch 2TB | A brushed-metal enclosure |
| Buyers who want lightweight textile design | One Touch SSD | A lightweight textile design |
| Spending more for the fullest feature set | X10 Pro | The top of this price range, adding 2,000MB/s rated writes |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Key specs side by side
Figures as each maker states them.
| Drive | Drive type | Capacity (as reviewed) | Max read speed | Connection |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seagate Portable 1TB | HDD | 1TB | Not listed | USB 3.0 (USB-A) |
| My Passport 2TB | HDD | 2TB | Not listed | USB 3.0 |
| One Touch 2TB | HDD | 2TB | Not listed | USB 3.0 |
| One Touch SSD | SSD | 1TB | 1,030MB/s | USB-C |
| X10 Pro | SSD | 1TB | 2,100MB/s | USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (USB-C) |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
By price at the time of writing
Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.
| Price tier | Drives |
|---|---|
| About $100 to $150 | Seagate Portable 1TB, My Passport 2TB, One Touch 2TB |
| About $150 to $250 | One Touch SSD, X10 Pro |
Frequently Asked Questions
How do these external drives compare on capacity?
The My Passport 2TB leads at 2TB, ahead of the One Touch 2TB at 2TB; the X10 Pro sits at the other end with 1TB.
Which is the cheapest pick in this guide?
The Seagate Portable 1TB cost the least when we checked, and the X10 Pro sat at the top of the range. Prices move often, so check the current listing before buying.
Why does my 1TB drive show less space?
Drive makers count 1TB as one trillion bytes; Windows counts in binary units, so it shows about 931GB. No space is missing.
How long do portable drives last?
It depends on use and handling. Check the warranty length as a signal of the maker's confidence, and replace a drive that reports errors.
Is a portable SSD good for backups?
It works, but a hard drive gives more capacity per dollar for backups. Keep a second copy somewhere else for anything irreplaceable.
Bottom Line
Our first pick is the Seagate Portable 1TB, chosen for a lower price than the My Passport 2TB and the rest when we checked. Look at the My Passport 2TB for backup software with ransomware defense, the One Touch 2TB for a brushed-metal enclosure and the One Touch SSD for a lightweight textile design if those matter more to you.
Bundled subscriptions are often time-limited; check the term.
