Buying Guide
The Best External Hard Drive for Backup
We weighed five external drives on capacity and drive type; the Passport Ultra for Mac has the largest capacity, and the YOTUO 1TB costs the least.
By The PC Journal editorial team
12 min read5 products evaluated
A backup drive should hold everything you need to restore, with room to grow. Every pick is a hard drive, ordered by capacity.
We ranked these external drives on drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and connection using manufacturer specifications; we did not test these external drives ourselves, and where a maker leaves a figure out, we say so.
Quick Picks
Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Largest Capacity
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB
The largest capacity here (5TB).
Best for: Buyers who put capacity first.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB (opens in a new tab)

Also Consider
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive
An 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Best for: Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Strong Alternative
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Backup software with ransomware defense.
Best for: Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Password Security
LaCie Rugged Mini 2TB Portable Hard Drive
A password security.
Best for: Buyers who want a password security.
Our take Check price for LaCie Rugged Mini 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Lowest Price Here
YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive
Undercutting the Seagate Portable 2TB on price when we checked.
Best for: Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.
Our take Check price for YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)
Our Picks
Largest Capacity1 of 5
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport Ultra for Mac arrives formatted for macOS and connects by USB-C.
Best for
- Buyers who put capacity first.
Skip if
- Price-first buyers should look at the YOTUO 1TB, which cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It adds 256-bit AES hardware encryption and the largest capacity here, 5TB. Nothing else here matches its 5TB capacity; the Seagate Portable 2TB comes closest at 2TB. It is the only pick here with a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection; the Seagate Portable 2TB has a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection instead.
It also comes with formatting for Mac out of the box, a metal cover and a USB-C connection. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. Only the Rugged Mini came close to it on price at the time of writing; it cost the most of the 5 picks.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 5TB
- Connection: USB-C (USB 3.1)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, 256-bit AES hardware encryption
Pros
- Formatting for Mac out of the box
- Metal cover
- USB-C connection
- Largest capacity of the picks (5TB)
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Also Consider2 of 5
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's Portable 2TB is a plain USB 3.0 hard drive with an 18in cable.
Best for
- Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Skip if
- Price-first buyers should look at the YOTUO 1TB, which cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It is the low-cost way to add backup space to any laptop. On capacity it ties with the My Passport 2TB and the Rugged Mini at 2TB. Like the Rugged Mini, it has a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection, while the YOTUO 1TB uses a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection.
It shares a none stated security with the YOTUO 1TB; the Rugged Mini goes with a password security. You also get drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac and a low price per terabyte. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable.
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was priced above the YOTUO 1TB and below the My Passport 2TB at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- 18in USB 3.0 cable
- Drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac
- Low price per terabyte
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the YOTUO 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Strong Alternative3 of 5
WD My Passport 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport adds password protection, hardware encryption and backup software to a slim 2TB drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the YOTUO 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
WD offers a three-year warranty. On capacity it ties with the Seagate Portable 2TB and the Rugged Mini at 2TB. No other pick in this guide offers a USB 3.0 connection; compare the Rugged Mini, which has a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection.
You also get backup software with ransomware defense. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. When we checked, only the Seagate Portable 2TB and cheaper picks cost less, and the Rugged Mini cost more.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, hardware encryption
Pros
- Backup software with ransomware defense
- Three-year limited warranty
- Slim enclosure
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the YOTUO 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Password Security4 of 5
LaCie Rugged Mini 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
LaCie's Rugged Mini wraps a 2TB hard drive in a bumper rated for 4ft drops, with dust and water resistance.
Best for
- Buyers who want a password security.
Skip if
- Skip it if price comes first: the YOTUO 1TB cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It connects by USB 3.0 and needs reformatting for Mac. It matches the Seagate Portable 2TB and the My Passport 2TB on capacity (2TB). It shares a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection with the Seagate Portable 2TB; the YOTUO 1TB goes with a USB 3.0 and USB-C connection.
No other pick in this guide offers a password security; compare the Seagate Portable 2TB, which has a none stated security. It also comes with built-in password protection and a rubber bumper design. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable.
It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine). On price it sat fourth of 5, between the cheaper My Passport 2TB and the pricier Passport Ultra for Mac, at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Drops up to 4ft, dust and water resistant
- Security: Password
Pros
- Drop resistance up to 4ft
- Built-in password protection
- Rubber bumper design
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the YOTUO 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the YOTUO 1TB at the time of writing
Lowest Price Here5 of 5
YOTUO 1TB Portable External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
YOTUO's 1TB drive ships with both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections and a silicone sleeve.
Best for
- Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build.
Skip if
- Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the Passport Ultra for Mac offers 5TB.
Why we like it
It weighs 0.16kg. It stores and plays PS4 and Xbox One games directly, and a silicone sleeve cushions drops. It works with Windows, Mac and Linux.
Its 1TB capacity is the smallest in this group; the Passport Ultra for Mac leads at 5TB. Like the Seagate Portable 2TB, it has a none stated security, while the Rugged Mini uses a password security. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running.
Worth noting too: 0.16kg weight. It undercut the Seagate Portable 2TB and every other pick on price at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 and USB-C
- Durability claim: Silicone sleeve
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Both USB 3.0 and USB-C connections
- Silicone sleeve
- 0.16kg weight
- Undercutting the Seagate Portable 2TB on price when we checked
Cons
- Capacity trails the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB)
How We Chose
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- Security and extras
- We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
- Drive type and speed
- We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
- Connection
- We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.
- Durability
- We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.
What to Look for in an External Hard Drive for Backup
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Match the port
A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.
Mac and Windows formatting
Many drives ship formatted for Windows. On a Mac, reformat to APFS for Time Machine, or exFAT to share the drive with a Windows PC.
Password and encryption
Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.
Size for what you store
1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.
Drop and water ratings
IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.
SSD or hard drive
A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.
How to Choose an External Hard Drive for Backup
By priority
| Priority | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Buyers who put capacity first | Passport Ultra for Mac | The largest capacity here (5TB) |
| Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable | Seagate Portable 2TB | An 18in USB 3.0 cable |
| Buyers who want backup software with ransomware defense | My Passport 2TB | Backup software with ransomware defense |
| Buyers who want a password security | Rugged Mini | A password security |
| Buyers who would rather put the savings elsewhere in the build | YOTUO 1TB | Undercutting the Seagate Portable 2TB on price when we checked |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Key specs side by side
Figures as each maker states them.
| Drive | Drive type | Capacity (as reviewed) | Connection | Durability claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passport Ultra for Mac | HDD | 5TB | USB-C (USB 3.1) | Not stated |
| Seagate Portable 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Not stated |
| My Passport 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 | Not stated |
| Rugged Mini | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Drops up to 4ft, dust and water resistant |
| YOTUO 1TB | HDD | 1TB | USB 3.0 and USB-C | Silicone sleeve |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
By price at the time of writing
Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.
| Price tier | Drives |
|---|---|
| About $50 to $100 | YOTUO 1TB |
| About $100 to $150 | Seagate Portable 2TB, My Passport 2TB, Rugged Mini |
| About $250 to $500 | Passport Ultra for Mac |
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these external drives has the largest capacity?
The Passport Ultra for Mac, at 5TB. The Seagate Portable 2TB follows at 2TB, while the YOTUO 1TB has 1TB.
What is the least I can spend on one of these external drives?
That was the YOTUO 1TB at our last check; if you can stretch, the Seagate Portable 2TB is the next step up and the Passport Ultra for Mac the priciest.
Can I run PC games from an external SSD?
Yes. Launchers such as Steam can add a library folder on an external drive. Load times depend on the drive and port; an SSD on a 10Gbps port is far quicker than a hard drive.
How long do portable drives last?
It depends on use and handling. Check the warranty length as a signal of the maker's confidence, and replace a drive that reports errors.
Is a portable SSD good for backups?
It works, but a hard drive gives more capacity per dollar for backups. Keep a second copy somewhere else for anything irreplaceable.
Bottom Line
Our first pick is the Passport Ultra for Mac, chosen for the largest capacity here (5TB). Look at the Seagate Portable 2TB for an 18in USB 3.0 cable, the My Passport 2TB for backup software with ransomware defense and the Rugged Mini for a password security if those matter more to you.
Follow the 3-2-1 rule: three copies, two media, one off-site.
