Buying Guide
The Best Time Machine Backup Drives
Four external drives ranked on capacity and drive type, where the Passport Ultra for Mac has the largest capacity; the Seagate Portable 1TB is the cheapest route in.
By The PC Journal editorial team
11 min read4 products evaluated
A Time Machine backup drive needs space for many snapshots. These are ordered by capacity.
We ranked these external drives on drive type, capacity (as reviewed) and connection using manufacturer specifications; where a maker leaves a figure out, we say so rather than guess, since we have not benched them.
Quick Picks
Our 4 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Largest Capacity
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB
The largest capacity here (5TB).
Best for: Buyers who put capacity first.
Our take Check price for WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB (opens in a new tab)

Also Consider
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive
An 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Best for: Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Strong Alternative
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive
Plug-and-play setup.
Best for: Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.
Our take Check price for WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)

Lowest Price Here
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive
A lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked.
Best for: Keeping the budget tight.
Our take Check price for Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab)
| Pick | Why it’s here | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | The largest capacity here (5TB). | Buyers who put capacity first. | Check price for WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | An 18in USB 3.0 cable. | Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable. | Check price for Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | Plug-and-play setup. | Buyers who want plug-and-play setup. | Check price for WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | A lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked. | Keeping the budget tight. | Check price for Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive (opens in a new tab) |
Our Picks
Largest Capacity1 of 4
WD My Passport Ultra for Mac 5TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD's My Passport Ultra for Mac arrives formatted for macOS and connects by USB-C.
Best for
- Buyers who put capacity first.
Skip if
- Skip it if price comes first: the Seagate Portable 1TB cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It adds 256-bit AES hardware encryption and the largest capacity here, 5TB. On capacity it leads this guide at 5TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 2TB (2TB). It is the only pick here with a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection; the WD Elements has a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection instead.
It also offers formatting for Mac out of the box, a metal cover and a USB-C connection. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. Only the WD Elements came close to it on price at the time of writing; it cost the most of the 4 picks.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 5TB
- Connection: USB-C (USB 3.1)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: Password, 256-bit AES hardware encryption
Pros
- Formatting for Mac out of the box
- Metal cover
- USB-C connection
- Largest capacity of the picks (5TB)
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Also Consider2 of 4
Seagate Portable 2TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Seagate's Portable 2TB is a plain USB 3.0 hard drive with an 18in cable.
Best for
- Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable.
Skip if
- If budget leads, the Seagate Portable 1TB was cheaper at our last price check.
Why we like it
It is the low-cost way to add backup space to any laptop. On capacity it ties with the WD Elements at 2TB. Like the Seagate Portable 1TB, it has a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection, while the Passport Ultra for Mac uses a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection.
It also comes with drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac and a low price per terabyte. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It was priced above the Seagate Portable 1TB and below the WD Elements at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- 18in USB 3.0 cable
- Drag-and-drop file saving on Windows and Mac
- Low price per terabyte
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Strong Alternative3 of 4
WD Elements 2TB Portable Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
WD Elements is a no-frills 2TB USB 3.2 Gen 1 drive.
Best for
- Buyers who want plug-and-play setup.
Skip if
- Price-first buyers should look at the Seagate Portable 1TB, which cost less when we checked.
Why we like it
It is formatted for Windows out of the box. It matches the Seagate Portable 2TB on capacity (2TB). You get a USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) connection here, which sets it apart from the Passport Ultra for Mac and its a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection.
You also get plug-and-play setup, a small, light enclosure and USB 3.2 Gen 1. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. On price it sat third of 4, between the cheaper Seagate Portable 2TB and the pricier Passport Ultra for Mac, at the time of writing.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 2TB
- Connection: USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- Plug-and-play setup
- Small, light enclosure
- USB 3.2 Gen 1
- Capacity of 2TB, ahead of the Seagate Portable 1TB
Cons
- Costs more than the Seagate Portable 1TB at the time of writing
Lowest Price Here4 of 4
Seagate Portable 1TB External Hard Drive on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The 1TB Seagate Portable lists PC, Mac, PlayStation and Xbox support and a year of Rescue data recovery.
Best for
- Keeping the budget tight.
Skip if
- Skip it if capacity matters most to you; the Passport Ultra for Mac offers 5TB.
Why we like it
Mac users reformat it first. On capacity it trails the group at 1TB, while the Passport Ultra for Mac is rated for 5TB. Like the Seagate Portable 2TB, it has a USB 3.0 (USB-A) connection, while the Passport Ultra for Mac uses a USB-C (USB 3.1) connection.
It also comes with the lowest price tier among Seagate drives here. It connects by USB-A; a USB-C-only laptop such as a MacBook Air needs an adapter or a USB-C cable. It ships formatted for Windows, so a Mac user reformats it (exFAT for both systems, APFS for Time Machine).
As a spinning hard drive it is slower than an SSD and less tolerant of knocks while running. It cost the least of the 4 picks at the time of writing, with the Seagate Portable 2TB the next step up.
Key dimensions & specs
- Drive type: HDD
- Capacity (as reviewed): 1TB
- Connection: USB 3.0 (USB-A)
- Durability claim: Not stated
- Security: None stated
Pros
- PC, Mac, PlayStation and Xbox compatibility
- One year of Rescue data recovery
- The lowest price tier among Seagate drives here
- A lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked
Cons
- Capacity trails the Passport Ultra for Mac (5TB)
How We Chose These Time Machine Backup Drives
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- Connection
- We checked the USB standard and connector each maker names.
- Durability
- We noted listed drop, water and dust claims.
- Drive type and speed
- We recorded whether each drive is an SSD or hard drive and its read speed.
- Security and extras
- We checked for password protection, encryption and backup software.
What to Look for in a Time Machine Backup Drive
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Match the port
A 1,050MB/s SSD needs USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps); a 2,000MB/s SSD needs Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), which few laptops and no Macs offer. On a slower port the drive simply runs at the port's speed.
Mac and Windows formatting
Many drives ship formatted for Windows. On a Mac, reformat to APFS for Time Machine, or exFAT to share the drive with a Windows PC.
Password and encryption
Hardware encryption with a password protects a drive that could be lost. Software-only encryption depends on an app being available on each computer.
SSD or hard drive
A portable hard drive gives the most terabytes per dollar and suits backups. A portable SSD is several times faster, lighter and more tolerant of drops, which suits working files and games.
Size for what you store
1TB suits documents and a few games. 2TB or more suits photo libraries, video and large game libraries. Hard drives reach larger sizes for the money.
Drop and water ratings
IP ratings and drop heights are manufacturer claims. They matter for drives that travel in bags; a drive that stays on a desk needs less.
How to Choose a Time Machine Backup Drive
By priority
| Priority | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Buyers who put capacity first | Passport Ultra for Mac | The largest capacity here (5TB) |
| Buyers who want 18in USB 3.0 cable | Seagate Portable 2TB | An 18in USB 3.0 cable |
| Buyers who want plug-and-play setup | WD Elements | Plug-and-play setup |
| Keeping the budget tight | Seagate Portable 1TB | A lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Key specs side by side
Figures as each maker states them.
| Drive | Drive type | Capacity (as reviewed) | Connection | Durability claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passport Ultra for Mac | HDD | 5TB | USB-C (USB 3.1) | Not stated |
| Seagate Portable 2TB | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Not stated |
| WD Elements | HDD | 2TB | USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5Gbps) | Not stated |
| Seagate Portable 1TB | HDD | 1TB | USB 3.0 (USB-A) | Not stated |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
By price at the time of writing
Prices change often; these tiers reflect Amazon prices when this guide was updated.
| Price tier | Drives |
|---|---|
| About $100 to $150 | Seagate Portable 1TB, Seagate Portable 2TB, WD Elements |
| About $250 to $500 | Passport Ultra for Mac |
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick leads on capacity?
The Passport Ultra for Mac, at 5TB. The Seagate Portable 2TB follows at 2TB, while the Seagate Portable 1TB has 1TB.
Which pick costs the least here?
That was the Seagate Portable 1TB at our last check; if you can stretch, the Seagate Portable 2TB is the next step up and the Passport Ultra for Mac the priciest.
How long do portable drives last?
It depends on use and handling. Check the warranty length as a signal of the maker's confidence, and replace a drive that reports errors.
Can I run PC games from an external SSD?
Yes. Launchers such as Steam can add a library folder on an external drive. Load times depend on the drive and port; an SSD on a 10Gbps port is far quicker than a hard drive.
Is a portable SSD good for backups?
It works, but a hard drive gives more capacity per dollar for backups. Keep a second copy somewhere else for anything irreplaceable.
Bottom Line
Our first pick is the Passport Ultra for Mac, chosen for the largest capacity here (5TB). Look at the Seagate Portable 2TB for an 18in USB 3.0 cable, the WD Elements for plug-and-play setup and the Seagate Portable 1TB for a lower price than the Seagate Portable 2TB and the rest when we checked if those matter more to you.
Keep the drive connected so Time Machine can back up hourly.
