Buying Guide
The Best $3500 Ultimate Gaming PC Build
Eight parts for a ultimate gaming PC, each checked against the others for socket, memory, power and case fit.
By The PC Journal editorial team
13 min read8 products evaluated
The ultimate tier is where one component takes the largest share, and here it is the GeForce RTX 5080 with 16GB of GDDR7, paired with Intel's Core Ultra 7 265K on LGA1851 rather than a Ryzen. Every part is on LGA1851 with DDR5, and the 1000W supply lists a 12V-2x6 connector for the card.
This is a research build, not a lab build: the parts were picked from the makers' figures and then checked against each other, beginning with CPU socket, memory type and memory kit. The total fell between $3,450 and $3,500 when we checked.
Quick Picks
Our 8 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Processor
Intel Core Ultra 7 265K
8 performance and 12 efficient cores.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about 8 performance and 12 efficient cores.
Our take Check price for Intel Core Ultra 7 265K (opens in a new tab)

Graphics Card
PNY GeForce RTX 5080 Triple-Fan
Triple 100mm axial fans.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about triple 100mm axial fans.
Our take Check price for PNY GeForce RTX 5080 Triple-Fan (opens in a new tab)

Motherboard
ASUS TUF Gaming Z890-PLUS WiFi
Thunderbolt 4 Type-C port.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about thunderbolt 4 Type-C port.
Our take Check price for ASUS TUF Gaming Z890-PLUS WiFi (opens in a new tab)

Memory
CORSAIR Vengeance RGB DDR5 32GB (2x16GB) 6000 CL30
ICUE lighting control.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about iCUE lighting control.
Our take Check price for CORSAIR Vengeance RGB DDR5 32GB (2x16GB) 6000 CL30 (opens in a new tab)

Storage
Samsung 990 EVO Plus 2TB
Design that runs on PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2 lanes.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about design that runs on PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2 lanes.
Our take Check price for Samsung 990 EVO Plus 2TB (opens in a new tab)

Power Supply
LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White
Magnetic dust filter over the fan.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about magnetic dust filter over the fan.
Our take Check price for LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White (opens in a new tab)

Case
Fractal Design Pop 2 Vision
Dual-chamber layout.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about dual-chamber layout.
Our take Check price for Fractal Design Pop 2 Vision (opens in a new tab)

CPU Cooler
CORSAIR Nautilus 360 RS ARGB White
White finish.
Best for: Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about white finish.
Our take Check price for CORSAIR Nautilus 360 RS ARGB White (opens in a new tab)
| Pick | Why it’s here | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | 8 performance and 12 efficient cores. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about 8 performance and 12 efficient cores. | Check price for Intel Core Ultra 7 265K (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | Triple 100mm axial fans. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about triple 100mm axial fans. | Check price for PNY GeForce RTX 5080 Triple-Fan (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | Thunderbolt 4 Type-C port. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about thunderbolt 4 Type-C port. | Check price for ASUS TUF Gaming Z890-PLUS WiFi (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | ICUE lighting control. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about iCUE lighting control. | Check price for CORSAIR Vengeance RGB DDR5 32GB (2x16GB) 6000 CL30 (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | Design that runs on PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2 lanes. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about design that runs on PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2 lanes. | Check price for Samsung 990 EVO Plus 2TB (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | Magnetic dust filter over the fan. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about magnetic dust filter over the fan. | Check price for LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | Dual-chamber layout. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about dual-chamber layout. | Check price for Fractal Design Pop 2 Vision (opens in a new tab) |
![]() | White finish. | Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about white finish. | Check price for CORSAIR Nautilus 360 RS ARGB White (opens in a new tab) |
Our Picks
Processor1 of 8
Intel Core Ultra 7 265K on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The Core Ultra 7 265K stands out for 8 performance and 12 efficient cores, and it adds a built-in NPU for AI features.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about 8 performance and 12 efficient cores.
Skip if
- Skip it if this is a dealbreaker: no cooler in the box.
Why we like it
It also offers a 30MB L3 cache and offers a 5.5GHz boost clock.
The Core Ultra 7 265K brings 20 cores and 20 threads, a 5.5GHz maximum boost, 30MB of L3 cache and a 125W rating, and it accounts for 9% of the parts total. It ships without a cooler, so the build pairs it with the Nautilus 360 RS White. Its integrated graphics stay available as a backup display output.
LGA1851 is the socket on both the Core Ultra 7 265K and the TUF Z890-PLUS, which is the first thing that has to match. The board maker's support list names the BIOS version this processor needs. The TUF Z890-PLUS takes DDR5 and the Core Ultra 7 265K supports DDR5, so the Vengeance RGB kit in DDR5 is the matching type. DDR4 and DDR5 sticks are keyed differently, so the wrong type will not seat. LGA1851 appears in the Nautilus 360 RS White's supported sockets (AM5, AM4, LGA1851, LGA1700), so the bracket for the Core Ultra 7 265K comes in its box. If the budget is tighter, the Core Ultra 5 245KF offers 14 cores and 24MB of L3 cache against 20 and 30MB, roughly 46% cheaper than the Core Ultra 7 265K; it keeps the same socket, memory type and cooler fit.
Key dimensions & specs
- L3 cache: 30MB
- Max boost: 5.5GHz
- Cores / threads: 20 cores
- Rated power: 125W
- Threads: 20
- Socket: LGA1851
- Memory: DDR5
- Cooler in box: No
- Integrated graphics: Yes
Pros
- 5.5GHz maximum boost
- 20 cores for encoding and background work
- Integrated graphics for display output without a graphics card
- 8 performance and 12 efficient cores
Cons
- No cooler in the box
- At 9% of the parts total, a swap here moves the whole budget
Graphics Card2 of 8
PNY GeForce RTX 5080 Triple-Fan on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The PNY 5080 is built around triple 100mm axial fans, with VelocityX software for tuning on top.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about triple 100mm axial fans.
Skip if
- Skip it if the listing does not state the card length, so check it against the case limit.
Why we like it
On the spec sheet, it offers a 16GB video memory.
16GB of GDDR7 and the RTX 5080 chip come with the PNY 5080, which takes 47% of the parts total, more than any other part. For the supply, the maker's guidance for this chip is 850W.
The Pop 2 Vision takes cards up to 412mm. The listing for the PNY 5080 gives no length, so compare the card's spec page with that limit before ordering. For an RTX 5080 card the recommended supply is 850W, and the LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White offers 1000W, a margin of 150W above that figure. The listing for the PNY 5080 does not name its power connector, while the LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White lists one 12V-2x6 connector. Check the card's page for 8-pin or 12V-2x6 and count the leads you need. If the budget is tighter, the MSI 4080 Super Ventus 3X offers the RTX 4080 Super with 16GB of GDDR6X, against the RTX 5080's 16GB, roughly 18% cheaper than the PNY 5080; the supply wattage and case length rows stay green.
Key dimensions & specs
- GPU: RTX 5080
- VRAM: 16GB
- Memory: GDDR7
Pros
- 16GB of VRAM for high-resolution textures
- Faster GDDR7 memory
- Triple 100mm axial fans
- VelocityX software for tuning
Cons
- The listing does not state the card length, so check it against the case limit
- At 47% of the parts total, a swap here moves the whole budget
Motherboard3 of 8
ASUS TUF Gaming Z890-PLUS WiFi on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The TUF Z890-PLUS offers a 16+1+2+1 layout, four M.2 slots, Wi-Fi 7 and Thunderbolt 4.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about thunderbolt 4 Type-C port.
Skip if
- Skip it if you would rather put that 7% of the budget elsewhere.
Why we like it
It covers Core Ultra 200S builds without premium pricing.
LGA1851 is the socket on the TUF Z890-PLUS, a board with the Z890 chipset, ATX size, 4 M.2 slots, Wi-Fi 7 and 2.5GbE LAN that accounts for 7% of the parts total; its memory slots accept DDR5 and nothing else.
LGA1851 is the socket on both the Core Ultra 7 265K and the TUF Z890-PLUS, which is the first thing that has to match. The board maker's support list names the BIOS version this processor needs. The TUF Z890-PLUS takes DDR5 and the Core Ultra 7 265K supports DDR5, so the Vengeance RGB kit in DDR5 is the matching type. DDR4 and DDR5 sticks are keyed differently, so the wrong type will not seat. The TUF Z890-PLUS lists 4 M.2 slots, so the 990 EVO Plus 2TB has a home and a second drive can follow. The manual says which slot runs at full PCIe speed.
Key dimensions & specs
- M.2 slots: 4
- Wired LAN: 2.5Gbps
- Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7
- Power stages: 16+1+2+1
- Form factor: ATX
- Socket: LGA1851
- Chipset: Z890
Pros
- 4 M.2 slots for SSD expansion
- Wi-Fi 7 built in
- 16+1+2+1 power stage layout
- Thunderbolt 4 Type-C port
Cons
- At 7% of the parts total, a swap here moves the whole budget
- Every figure comes from the maker's listing, not from our own testing
Memory4 of 8
CORSAIR Vengeance RGB DDR5 32GB (2x16GB) 6000 CL30 on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The Vengeance RGB matches that 6000 CL30 rating and adds lighting, with both profiles for AMD or Intel.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about iCUE lighting control.
Skip if
- Skip it if you would rather put that 16% of the budget elsewhere.
Why we like it
It is the pick for builds with a glass panel.
This kit is 32GB, DDR5, 6000MT/s, CL30 and EXPO and XMP profiles in two sticks and takes 16% of the parts total, a heavy slice because DDR5 is expensive when we checked.
The TUF Z890-PLUS takes DDR5 and the Core Ultra 7 265K supports DDR5, so the Vengeance RGB kit in DDR5 is the matching type. DDR4 and DDR5 sticks are keyed differently, so the wrong type will not seat. Because the Vengeance RGB is a two-stick 32GB kit, the board manual's dual-channel slot pair is where it goes. To spend more, the Flare X5 64GB is 64GB at 6000MT/s, roughly 113% dearer than the Vengeance RGB; the memory-type check still passes.
Key dimensions & specs
- CAS latency: CL30
- Rated speed: 6000MT/s
- Capacity: 32GB (2 sticks)
- Voltage: 1.4V
- Profiles: EXPO and XMP
- RGB: Yes
- Memory type: DDR5
Pros
- Tight CL30 timings
- 6000MT/s, the usual sweet spot for AM5
- Both AMD EXPO and Intel XMP profiles
- ICUE lighting control
Cons
- At 16% of the parts total, a swap here moves the whole budget
- Every figure comes from the maker's listing, not from our own testing
Storage5 of 8
Samsung 990 EVO Plus 2TB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The 990 EVO Plus can run on PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2 lanes, which suits boards that share lanes.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about design that runs on PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2 lanes.
Skip if
- Skip it if this is a dealbreaker: needs a PCIe 5.0 M.2 slot to reach its rated speed.
Why we like it
Its 7,250MB/s reads keep it close to the fastest Gen4 drives.
The 990 EVO Plus 2TB offers 2TB, PCIe 4.0 or 5.0 x2 and up to 7250MB/s sequential reads and takes 11% of the parts total.
The TUF Z890-PLUS lists 4 M.2 slots, so the 990 EVO Plus 2TB has a home and a second drive can follow. The manual says which slot runs at full PCIe speed. If the budget allows more, the SN5000 4TB offers 4TB on PCIe 4.0, roughly 35% dearer than the 990 EVO Plus 2TB; it uses the same M.2 slot as the current drive.
Key dimensions & specs
- Sequential read: 7,250MB/s
- Sequential write: 6,300MB/s
- Interface: PCIe 4.0 x4 or 5.0 x2
- Capacity: 2TB
Pros
- Design that runs on PCIe 4.0 x4 or PCIe 5.0 x2 lanes
- Intelligent TurboWrite 2.0 caching for large transfers
- Firmware updates through Samsung Magician software
Cons
- Needs a PCIe 5.0 M.2 slot to reach its rated speed
- The listing does not say whether the drive has a DRAM cache
Power Supply6 of 8
LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
What the LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White brings to the table is a magnetic dust filter over the fan, plus an Edge design meant to be shown off in glass cases.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about magnetic dust filter over the fan.
Skip if
- Skip it if the listing does not say whether the cables detach.
Why we like it
It also offers a 1000W rated output and offers a 1 native 12V-2x6 cable count.
The LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White is 1000W, Gold rated, ATX 3.1, ATX format and one 12V-2x6 connector and takes 4% of the parts total.
For an RTX 5080 card the recommended supply is 850W, and the LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White offers 1000W, a margin of 150W above that figure. The listing for the PNY 5080 does not name its power connector, while the LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White lists one 12V-2x6 connector. Check the card's page for 8-pin or 12V-2x6 and count the leads you need. The LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White is a standard ATX unit, and the Pop 2 Vision listing does not name a power supply type, so confirm ATX fits in its manual.
Key dimensions & specs
- Wattage: 1000W
- Native 12V-2x6 cables: 1
- 80 Plus rating: Gold
- Cybenetics rating: Gold
- ATX version: ATX 3.1
- Form factor: ATX
- Colour: White
Pros
- 1000W of rated output for high-power cards
- A native 12V-2x6 cable for 16-pin cards
- ATX 3.1 compliance
- Magnetic dust filter over the fan
Cons
- The listing does not say whether the cables detach
- At 4% of the parts total, a swap here moves the whole budget
Case7 of 8
Fractal Design Pop 2 Vision on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The Pop 2 Vision is built around a dual-chamber layout, with four reverse fans included on top.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about dual-chamber layout.
Skip if
- Skip it if the listing gives no CPU cooler height limit, so check the case page.
Why we like it
On the spec sheet, it offers a 412mm GPU clearance and offers a 360mm largest radiator size.
The Pop 2 Vision lists room for ATX boards, graphics cards up to 412mm, a radiator up to 360mm and 4 fans in the box and takes 2% of the parts total.
ATX is the TUF Z890-PLUS's size, and the Pop 2 Vision lists ATX, so the board has a place on its tray. The Pop 2 Vision takes cards up to 412mm. The listing for the PNY 5080 gives no length, so compare the card's spec page with that limit before ordering. The LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White is a standard ATX unit, and the Pop 2 Vision listing does not name a power supply type, so confirm ATX fits in its manual.
Key dimensions & specs
- Max GPU length: 412mm
- Largest radiator: 360mm
- Fans included: 4
- Motherboards: ATX
- Glass: Panoramic glass
Pros
- Room for graphics cards up to 412mm long
- Fits a 360mm radiator
- 4 fans included
- Panoramic glass
Cons
- The listing gives no CPU cooler height limit, so check the case page
- At 2% of the parts total, a swap here moves the whole budget
CPU Cooler8 of 8
CORSAIR Nautilus 360 RS ARGB White on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
The Nautilus 360 RS White is the white version of Corsair's hub-free 360, with fans that plug straight into the motherboard.
Best for
- Buyers assembling a ultimate gaming PC who care about white finish.
Skip if
- Skip it if the radiator needs a front or top mount, so it takes case space a tower cooler would not.
Why we like it
The Nautilus 360 RS White is a liquid cooler with a 360mm radiator, 120mm fans and AM5, AM4, LGA1851, LGA1700 mounting, and it takes 4% of the parts total.
LGA1851 appears in the Nautilus 360 RS White's supported sockets (AM5, AM4, LGA1851, LGA1700), so the bracket for the Core Ultra 7 265K comes in its box. The Nautilus 360 RS White has a 360mm radiator and the Pop 2 Vision lists room for up to 360mm, so it mounts at the front or top as the case manual allows. Check clearance over the memory if it goes on top.
Key dimensions & specs
- Fan size: 120mm
- Cabling: Daisy-chained fans that connect straight to the motherboard
- Sockets named: AM5, AM4, LGA1851, LGA1700
Pros
- Daisy-chained fans that connect straight to the motherboard
- Mounts on both AM5 and Intel LGA1851
- White finish
- Pump rated at 20 dBA
Cons
- The radiator needs a front or top mount, so it takes case space a tower cooler would not
- At 4% of the parts total, a swap here moves the whole budget
How We Chose
Each pick was assessed across 4 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- Compatibility rules
- 11 rules decide whether these parts work together: CPU socket, memory type, memory kit, M.2 slot for the SSD, board size in the case, graphics card length, power supply wattage, graphics power connector, power supply format, cooler mounting kit and radiator fit. Every one passes.
- Price at the time of writing
- The parts landed between $3,450 and $3,500 together, inside the $3,500 tier. Prices change daily, so the total can drift.
- Maker figures, not testing
- Specifications come from each maker's listing and the chip makers' published power recommendations; we did not build or benchmark this system.
- Headroom
- The LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White keeps 150W above the 850W the graphics chip's maker recommends.
What to Look for in a $3500 Ultimate Gaming PC Build
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Platform and upgrade path
Core Ultra 7 265K and TUF Z890-PLUS use LGA1851 with DDR5 memory. LGA1851 takes Core Ultra 200S processors, so check Intel's roadmap before counting on a drop-in upgrade. Among the 32GB kits we reviewed, the typical DDR5 kit cost about 2.2 times the typical DDR4 kit at the time of writing.
Power supply headroom
For an RTX 5080 card the recommended supply is 850W, and the LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White offers 1000W, a margin of 150W above that figure.
Case fit
The Pop 2 Vision takes cards up to 412mm. The listing for the PNY 5080 gives no length, so compare the card's spec page with that limit before ordering. The Nautilus 360 RS White has a 360mm radiator and the Pop 2 Vision lists room for up to 360mm, so it mounts at the front or top as the case manual allows. Check clearance over the memory if it goes on top. ATX is the TUF Z890-PLUS's size, and the Pop 2 Vision lists ATX, so the board has a place on its tray.
Cooling
The Nautilus 360 RS White is a closed-loop liquid cooler for a processor with a 125W rating. LGA1851 appears in the Nautilus 360 RS White's supported sockets (AM5, AM4, LGA1851, LGA1700), so the bracket for the Core Ultra 7 265K comes in its box.
Storage
The 990 EVO Plus 2TB is PCIe 4.0 x4 or 5.0 x2 and the TUF Z890-PLUS has 4 M.2 slots, so a second drive fits later.
Where the money goes
The three largest lines are graphics card (47%), memory (16%) and storage (11%).
How to Choose a $3500 Ultimate Gaming PC Build
Compatibility check
We ran 11 checks on these eight parts, and the $3500 Ultimate Gaming PC Build passes every one using the figures in the makers' listings. Three rows ask you to confirm a figure the listing does not give: graphics card length, graphics power connector and power supply format.
| Check | Parts | Result |
|---|---|---|
| CPU socket | Core Ultra 7 265K + TUF Z890-PLUS | Both use LGA1851. |
| Memory type | Vengeance RGB + TUF Z890-PLUS + Core Ultra 7 265K | DDR5 on all three. |
| Memory kit | Vengeance RGB | 32GB in two sticks. |
| M.2 slot for the SSD | 990 EVO Plus 2TB + TUF Z890-PLUS | 4 M.2 slots on the board. |
| Board size in the case | TUF Z890-PLUS + Pop 2 Vision | ATX board; the case lists ATX. |
| Graphics card length | PNY 5080 + Pop 2 Vision | Confirm: Card length not listed; case limit 412mm. |
| Power supply wattage | LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White + PNY 5080 | 1000W unit, 850W recommended for the card. |
| Graphics power connector | LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White + PNY 5080 | Confirm: Card connector not listed; the PSU lists one 12V-2x6 connector. |
| Power supply format | LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White + Pop 2 Vision | Confirm: ATX unit; the case lists no PSU type. |
| Cooler mounting kit | Nautilus 360 RS White + Core Ultra 7 265K | Listing names LGA1851. |
| Radiator fit | Nautilus 360 RS White + Pop 2 Vision | 360mm radiator, 360mm limit. |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
These rows compare published figures only. Before ordering, read the board's BIOS notes and the case manual for anything a listing leaves out.
Where the budget goes
Together the parts landed between $3,450 and $3,500 at the time of writing, inside the $3,500 tier.
| Part | Pick | Share of parts total | Price tier at the time of writing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Processor | Core Ultra 7 265K | 9% | $250 to $500 |
| Graphics Card | PNY 5080 | 47% | $1,000 to $2,000 |
| Motherboard | TUF Z890-PLUS | 7% | $100 to $250 |
| Memory | Vengeance RGB | 16% | $500 to $1,000 |
| Storage | 990 EVO Plus 2TB | 11% | $250 to $500 |
| Power Supply | LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White | 4% | $100 to $250 |
| Case | Pop 2 Vision | 2% | $50 to $100 |
| CPU Cooler | Nautilus 360 RS White | 4% | $100 to $250 |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Swap options that stay compatible
Every swap here was tested against the same rules as the build itself, and none of them forces another part to change.
| If you want to | Swap in | What changes |
|---|---|---|
| Spend less on graphics | MSI 4080 Super Ventus 3X | the RTX 4080 Super with 16GB of GDDR6X, against the RTX 5080's 16GB, roughly 18% cheaper than the PNY 5080; the supply wattage and case length rows stay green |
| Spend more on graphics | PNY 4090 Verto | the RTX 4090 with 24GB of GDDR6X, against the RTX 5080's 16GB, roughly 95% dearer than the PNY 5080; it still clears the supply and case limits in the table |
| Spend less on the processor | Core Ultra 5 245KF | 14 cores and 24MB of L3 cache against 20 and 30MB, roughly 46% cheaper than the Core Ultra 7 265K; it keeps the same socket, memory type and cooler fit |
| Spend more on the processor | Core Ultra 9 285K | 24 cores and 36MB of L3 cache against 20 and 30MB, roughly 58% dearer than the Core Ultra 7 265K; the board, memory and cooler rows still hold |
| Move to 64GB of memory | Flare X5 64GB | 64GB at 6000MT/s, roughly 113% dearer than the Vengeance RGB; the memory-type check still passes |
| Double the storage to 4TB | SN5000 4TB | 4TB on PCIe 4.0, roughly 35% dearer than the 990 EVO Plus 2TB; it uses the same M.2 slot as the current drive |
Scroll sideways to see every column.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will the PNY 5080 fit in the Pop 2 Vision?
The Pop 2 Vision takes cards up to 412mm. The listing for the PNY 5080 gives no length, so compare the card's spec page with that limit before ordering.
Is 1000W enough for the PNY 5080?
For an RTX 5080 card the recommended supply is 850W, and the LIAN LI Edge Gold 1000W White offers 1000W, a margin of 150W above that figure.
Why add the Nautilus 360 RS White?
The Core Ultra 7 265K does not include a cooler. The Nautilus 360 RS White has a 360mm radiator and the Pop 2 Vision lists room for up to 360mm, so it mounts at the front or top as the case manual allows. Check clearance over the memory if it goes on top.
Why DDR5 and 32GB of memory?
The TUF Z890-PLUS takes DDR5 and the Core Ultra 7 265K supports DDR5, so the Vengeance RGB kit in DDR5 is the matching type. DDR4 and DDR5 sticks are keyed differently, so the wrong type will not seat. Among the 32GB kits we reviewed, the typical DDR5 kit cost about 2.2 times the typical DDR4 kit at the time of writing.
Can I upgrade this build later?
LGA1851 takes Core Ultra 200S processors, so check Intel's roadmap before counting on a drop-in upgrade. The Pop 2 Vision takes up to a 360mm radiator, and the TUF Z890-PLUS has 4 M.2 slots.
What is not included in the total?
Only the eight parts above are counted. Windows, a monitor, input devices, tax and shipping are not, so budget for them separately.
Bottom Line
Our $3,500 build centres on the PNY 5080 (RTX 5080), the Core Ultra 7 265K and the Pop 2 Vision; it spends on the RTX 5080 and a 20-core Intel chip, and cools the processor with a 360mm radiator.
A Core Ultra 200S chip needs a board with the right BIOS. Check the Z890 board maker's CPU support list for the version the 265K requires before you build.
